Structured Investment Deposits - Digital Binary Deposit

Product highlights

Earn potentially higher return than normal time deposit if the chosen exchange rates move in line with your view.

Get started

Contact us

Features and benefits

Earn potentially higher returns than that available on traditional time deposits

Opportunity to take advantage of your FX view without currency conversion

100% capital protection at maturity*

In any event you will receive your potential interest in the deposit currency

Available in a wide range of currencies including Renminbi

How it works

Digital Binary Deposit is a principal protected deposit with final redemption linked to a currency level at maturity.

The following hypothetical example illustrates the deposit mechanism:

Type Bullish
Currency Pair EUR/ USD
Deposit Currency USD
Deposit Tenor 3 months
Trigger 1.5550
Minimum Redemption Rate 100.36% (implied yield 1.41% p.a.)
Maximum Redemption Rate 100.67% (implied yield 2.62% p.a.)

Final Redemption Scenarios:

Scenario 1 :
At maturity, if EUR/USD fixes at or above Trigger, customer will get the Maximum Redemption Rate

Scenario 2 :
At maturity, if EUR/USD fixes at or below Trigger, customer will get the Minimum Redemption Rate

Default Scenario
In the worst case scenario (e.g. insolvency of the Bank), the investor may get nothing back and the potential maximum loss could be 100% of investment amount and no coupon received.

Scenario Analysis Disclaimer
The scenarios above are provided for illustrative purposes only, and do not reflect a complete analysis of all possible gain and loss scenarios that may arise during any actual investment. No representation or warranty is made by the Bank that any scenario described above can be duplicated under real investment conditions. Actual results may vary from the results shown above, and variations may be material.

Risk Disclosure

*The capital protection only applies to deposits held to maturity. Early redemption is not allowed. The deposit can only be withdrawn on the deposit maturity date.

Structured Investment Deposit – Digital Binary Deposit is a structured product involving derivatives. The investment decision is yours but you should not invest in Structured Investment Deposit – Digital Binary Deposit unless the intermediary who sells it to you has explained to you that the product is suitable for you having regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives. Do not invest in it unless you fully understand and are willing to assume the risks associated with it. If you are in any doubt about the risks involved in the product, you may clarify with the intermediary or seek independent professional advice.

Structured Investment Deposit – Digital Binary Deposit is not listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange or any other stock exchange, and hence investors will not be entitled to claim from the Investor Compensation Fund.

Investment involves risks. Past performance of investment products are no guide to future performance. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and is not guaranteed. Investors may not get back the amount they invest.

Issuer's Risk – you rely on HSBC's creditworthiness. The product is subject to both the actual and perceived measures of the credit worthiness of HSBC and there is no assurance of protection against a default by HSBC in respect of its payment obligations. In the worst case scenario (e.g. insolvency of HSBC), the investor might not be able to recover the principal and/or any interest /coupon (if any) and the potential maximum loss could be 100% of investment amount and interest/coupon received.

- Not a time deposit – Digital Binary Deposit is NOT equivalent to, nor should it be treated as a substitute for, time deposit. It is NOT a protected deposit and is NOT protected by the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong.

- Derivatives risk – Digital Binary Deposit is embedded with FX option(s). Option transactions involve risks. If the exchange rate of the currency pair performs against expectation at the fixing time on the fixing date, you can only earn the minimum return, which could be 0%, out of this structure.

- Limited potential gain – The maximum potential gain is limited to the Higher return, when exchange rate of currency pair at fixing moves in line with your anticipated direction.

- Not the same as buying the linked currency – Investing in Digital Binary Deposit is not the same as buying the linked currency directly.

- Market risk – The return of Digital Binary Deposit will depend upon the exchange rates of currency pair against trigger rate at the fixing time on the fixing date. Movements in exchange rates can be unpredictable, sudden and drastic, and affected by complex political and economic factors. You must be prepared to take the risk of earning the lower payout/no return (if exchange rate performs against expectation) on the money invested.

- Liquidity risk - Digital Binary Deposit is designed to be held until maturity. You should not use it as a short term investment vehicle and should have sufficient liquid emergency funds to meet any unforeseen circumstances. You do not have a right to request early termination of this product before maturity. Under special circumstances, the Bank may accept your early redemption request at its sole discretion and on a case by case basis. The Bank will provide an indication of the redemption price upon such request. Your return upon such early redemption will likely be lower than that if the deposit were held until maturity and may be negative. You must be prepared that you may incur a significant loss of the deposit principal.

- Credit risk of the Bank – Digital Binary Deposit is not secured by any collateral. When you invest in this product, you will be relying on the Bank’s creditworthiness. If the Bank becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations under this product, you can only claim as an unsecured creditor of the Bank. In the worst case, you could suffer a total loss of your deposit principal.

- Currency Risk – If the deposit currency is not your home currency, and you choose to convert it back to your home currency at maturity, you may make a gain or loss due to exchange fluctuations.

- Risk of early termination by the Bank – The Bank shall have the discretion to uplift a Digital Binary Deposit or any part thereof prior to the Maturity Date (subject to the deduction of such break costs or the addition of such proportion of the return or redemption amount, which may result in a figure less than the original principal amount of the Digital Binary Deposit) if it determines, in its sole discretion, that this is necessary or appropriate to protect any right of the Bank to combine accounts or set-off, or any security interest, or to protect your interests.

- Specific Risks related to RMB as Deposit Currency or as a currency in your chosen currency pair

  1. RMB currency risk - RMB is currently not freely convertible and conversion of RMB through banks in Hong Kong is subject to certain restrictions. You should note that the value of RMB against other foreign currencies fluctuates and will be affected by, amongst other things, the PRC government's control (for example, the PRC government regulates conversion between RMB and foreign currencies), which may adversely affect your return under the RMB products when you convert RMB into your home currency.
  2. This product (if denominated in RMB) will be denominated and settled in RMB deliverable in Hong Kong. RMB may be offered in Hong Kong and in Mainland China at different rates.
  3. This product (if denominated in RMB) does not have access to invest directly in Mainland China. Accordingly, its available choice of underlying investments denominated in RMB outside Mainland China may be limited, such limitation could have adverse effect on the return and performance of this product.
  4. Possibility of not receiving RMB upon redemption - The RMB denominated structured investment deposits may have a significant portion of non-RMB denominated underlying investments. There is a possibility that you will not receive the full amount in RMB upon redemption. This may be the case if the Bank is not able to obtain sufficient amount of RMB in a timely manner due to the exchange controls and restrictions applicable to the currency.

Note:
The information does not constitute a solicitation for the making of any deposit, or investment in any products referred to herein. The above deposits are not the same as nor should they be treated as a substitute for normal fixed time deposits. The return in relation to a deposit will depend upon market conditions prevailing at the relevant fixing time(s) during or in respect of the relevant deposit period. The level of the underlying asset may go up or down during such period and this will affect the return. The return may be less than would have been payable on a normal time deposit for the same period. You must be prepared to risk the interest that might otherwise have been earned on money invested as a deposit. If the deposit is not in your home currency, and you choose to convert it back to your home currency upon maturity, you may make a gain or loss due to exchange rate fluctuations. Investment involves risks. You should carefully consider whether any investment products or services mentioned herein are appropriate for you in view of your risk appetite, investment experience, objectives, financial resources and circumstances. This information is not intended to provide and should not be relied upon for tax, legal or accounting advice, investment recommendation or a credit or other evaluation of the product. Prospective investors should consult their tax, legal, accounting or other advisors. If you have any concerns about the products you should consult your professional advisers. For details on the relevant deposits, please refer to the Terms and Conditions, the relevant appendices and the fact sheets, all of which are available at HSBC branches from time to time.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

结构投资存款 - 双向挂钩保本存款

产品摘要

如果汇率表现符合您的外币观点,潜在回报将较传统定期存款为高。

立即行动

联络我们

特点及好处

潜在回报较传统定期存款为高

有机会凭您的外币观点获利而没有外币兑换的风险

存款期届满时,可获100%本金*

在任何情况下,您的潜在利息都会以存款货币支付

可选择包括人民币在内的不同货币

如何运作

本存款于存款期届满时保本,而到期日赎回则与一对配对货币于最后厘定日的汇率挂钩

以下的假设性例子将说明本存款的运作:

种类 / 客户觀点 看涨
与存款挂鈎的汇率 欧元 / 美元
存款货币 美元
存款年期 3 个月
触发汇率 1.5550
最低赎回率 100.36% (即年利率 1.41%)
最高赎回率 100.67% (即年利率2.62%)

到期日赎回的情况:

情况1:
于存款期届满时,假如欧元 / 美元定高于或等于触发汇率,客户将得到最高赎回率。

情況2:
于存款期届满时,假如欧元 / 美元定低于触发汇率,客户将得到最低赎回率。

违约情况
于最坏情况下(如银行破产),投资者将不能收回任何本金或利息,因此最高潜在风险为损失100% 投资本金及不能获取任何利息。

情况分析的免责声明
上述的情况分析仅供举例說明用途,未能全面反映及分析在任何实际投资情况下可能出现的所有盈亏情况。本银行并无作出表述或保证任何上述情况可代表实际的投资情况。存款的实际表现及回报可能有别于上述所示的表现情况,差異或会甚大。

风险披露

* “获得100%本金”只适用于存款至到期日的存款。同时,本产品不设提早赎回,投资者必须于到期日才可取回存款。

结构投资存款-双向挂钩存款乃涉及金融衍生工具的结构性产品。投资决定是由阁下自行作出的,但阁下不应投资在结构投资存款-双向挂钩存款,除非中介人于销售该产品时已向阁下解释经考虑阁下的财务情况、投资经验及目标后,该产品是适合阁下的。除非阁下完全了解及愿意承担所涉风险,否则切勿投资此产品。阁下如对此产品所涉及风险有疑问,应询问有关中介人或征询独立专业意见。

结构投资存款-双向挂钩存款并未于香港联交所或其他任何股票交易所上市,故投资者不能从投资者赔偿基金索偿。

投资涉及风险。过往业绩数据并非未来业绩的指标。投资价值及其盈利可升可跌,投资可能招至损失,不能保证能赚取利润。

发行人风险 — 您须依赖汇丰银行的借贷能力。本产品受汇丰的实际和预计借贷能力所影响及不保证汇丰于须偿债时不会拖欠债务。于最坏情况下(如汇丰破产),投资者将不能收回任何本金及/或利息/票息(如有),因此最高潜在风险为损失100%投资本金及/或不能获取任何利息/票息。

  • 并非定期存款 — 双向挂钩存款并不等同,亦不应被视为定期存款的代替品。 本产品并不属于受保障存款及不会受香港的存款保障计划所保障。
  • 衍生工具风险 — 双向挂钩存款内含外汇期权。期权交易涉及风险。如果存款货币兑挂钩货币的汇率于厘定日厘定时间的走势非如您所料,你只能赚取存款的最低回报,而可能为0%。
  • 潜在收益有限 — 当外币汇率于厘定日厘定时间相比触发汇率走势如您所料的时候,您能获取的最高回报为「较高回报」。
  • 有别于买入挂钩货币 — 投资于双向挂钩存款有别于直接买入挂钩货币。
  • 市场风险 — 双向挂钩存款的收益须视乎于厘定日厘定时间存款货币兑挂钩货币的汇率相对于触发汇率的表现而定。汇率的变动可能出乎预料、突如其来而且幅度庞大,并受复杂的政治及经济因素影响。您必须准备接受或会收取存款的最低赎回额/甚至没有回报的风险(如汇率走势非如您所料)。
  • 流通性风险 — 双向挂钩存款乃为持有至到期而设。您不应视此保本投资存款为一短期投资, 应确保有足够现金作紧急应变之用。阁下无权在到期前要求提早终止本产品。在特殊情况下,本行有可能因应个别情况决定接受您的提早赎回申请。接获有关申请后,本行将提供参考赎回价格。提早赎回时的回报可能低于存款一直存放至到期日的回报,亦有可能出现负回报。您应为您有机会蒙受显著的存款本金亏损作准备。
  • 银行的信贷风险 — 双向挂钩存款并无以任何抵押品作抵押。当阁下购买本产品,阁下将承担银行的信贷风险。如银行无力偿债或未能履行其于本产品下的责任,阁下只可以银行的无抵押债权人身份提出申索。在最坏情况下,阁下可能损失阁下的全部存款本金。
  • 货币风险 — 倘若存款货币并非本地货币,而您选择于到期时兑换为本地货币,则有可能因汇率波动而产生盈利或亏损。
  • 银行提早终止风险 — 在本行完全酌情决定就保障本行结合户口或抵销账项的权利或任何抵押权益或保障阁下利益而言属有需要或适当的情况下,本行有酌情权于到期日前将双向挂钩存款或双向挂钩存款的任何部分结束,扣除有关终止成本或加上按比例计算的应得回报或赎回额后,所得出数目或会少于存款的原先本金额。
  • 有关人民币为存款货币或为你所挑选的配对货币中的一个货币的特定风险
    1. 人民币货币风险 -人民币现时并不能自由兑换,经香港银行兑换人民币会有相当限制。阁下应注意,人民币兑其他外币的汇率可能出现波动,并会受到(其中包括)中国政府控制(例如中国政府对人民币与外币兑换作出的监管)等因素的影响,从而可能会在阁下将人民币兑换为本地货币对人民币产品的回报产生不利影响。
    2. 本产品(如以人民币计值)是于香港以人民币计值及结算的产品。于香港计值的人民币有别于中国内地计值的人民币。
    3. 本产品(如以人民币计值)无法直接投资于中国内地,这意味着其对中国内地以外按人民币计值的相关投资之选择可能受限。因此,人民币计值结构投资存款之回报及表现可能会受到不利影响。
    4. 在赎回时可能无法取得人民币款项 -人民币计值结构投资存款可能拥有大部份非人民币计值相关投资。阁下在赎回时可能将无法悉数取得人民币款项。假如银行因外汇控制及适用货币的限制而无法及时取得充足的人民币款项,可能就会出现这种情况。

注意
本网页所载资料并不构成任何存款或投资之建议。结构投资存款并非普通定期存款,亦不应视为普通定期存款的代替品。存款回报取决于存款期内或在相关存款期的厘定时间内的当时市况而定。在该期间内相关资产的价值可升亦可跌,升跌将影响回报。回报或会少于在相同期间之一般定期存款所能提供的回报。您必须准备接受风险,或有可能无法获取透过其他存款形式所能赚取的利息金额。倘若存款货币并非本地货币,而投资者选择于到期日兑换为本地货币,则有可能因汇率波动而产生盈利或亏损。投资涉及风险,您应就本身的可接受的风险程度、投资经验、投资目标、财政资源及其他相关条件,小心衡量自己是否适合参与任何投资项目。本文不拟提供,亦不可赖以作为税务、法律或会计意見、投资建议,或产品的信用或其他评估。准投资者应咨询其税务、法律、会计或其他顾问。您若对本产品有任何疑问,应谘询专业顾问。详细资料,请参阅投资存款条款,有关附录和资料概览,所有资料可在香港上海汇丰银行各分行取阅。

您将离开汇丰工商金融网站。

请注意其他网站的政策会和我们网站的条款及细则和隐私政策有所不同。现在会打开一个新的浏览器窗口进入另外一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。