Deposit Plus

Important Risk Warning

  • Deposit Plus is a structured investment product involving derivatives. The investment decision is yours but you should not invest in Deposit Plus unless the intermediary who sells it to you has explained to you that the product is suitable for you having regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives. Do not invest in it unless you fully understand and are willing to assume the risks associated with it. If you are in any doubt about the risks involved in the product, you may clarify with the intermediary or seek independent professional advice.
  • Deposit Plus is a structured investment product, which is NOT a protected deposit and is NOT protected by the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong.

Additional risks are disclosed in the section of "Risk Disclosure" below. Please refer to it for details.

Get started

Contact us

Features and benefits

Place your deposit for as low as HK$50,000 or equivalent with Business Internet Banking.

Choose two currencies1 – a deposit currency and a linked currency. Deposit Plus offers you with a variety of currency choices to suit your need for foreign currency. For example, you might consider the currency of the country which you purchase goods from or where you have local expenses.

Perfect for businesses that regularly convert funds from one currency to another and are seeking higher returns.

Choose your own deposit period, from one week to three months.

Earn a higher interest rate than a normal Hong Kong dollar or foreign currency time deposit if you are willing to risk conversion into another currency.

Enjoy the flexibility of fixing your deposit period and conversion rate or Deposit Plus interest rate.

How it works

The following example illustrates various scenarios* that determine the final redemption currency and your return:

Deposit currency Hong Kong Dollar (HKD)
Linked currency Australian Dollar (AUD)
Deposit placed on 13 November 2012
Deposit date 15 November 2012
Fixing date 27 November 2012
Maturity date 29 November 2012
Interest period 14 days
Conversion rate^ 8.1043
Deposit amount HK$50,000
Deposit Plus Interest rate 13.12%p.a.
Upon maturity If the AUD/HKD exchange rate is at or above 8.1043 at fixing, the principal and interest will be paid in HKD.
If the AUD/HKD exchange rate is below 8.1043 at fixing, the principal and interest will be paid in AUD.

^Based on indicative pricing quoted on 13 November 2012.


*The above scenarios are for reference only. Return depends upon the market conditions on the fixing date. &Interest = principal x interest rate p.a. x tenor (in number of days) / [365 days (if deposit currency is HKD, SGD or GBP) or 360 days (if deposit currency is other foreign currencies)].
§Assume the deposit is converted back to HKD upon maturity and the exchange rate equals to the rate upon fixing.
In this worst payout scenario, you will receive return or the linked currency the value of which may be worth substantially less than the original amount you invested (and in the extreme case could be worth nothing).

1For Deposit Plus that trade via HSBC Business Internet Banking, either the deposit currency or linked currency must be Renminbi, Hong Kong Dollar or US Dollar.

Default Scenario

If the Bank has become insolvent, you will become an unsecured creditor of the Bank and what you will receive in respect of the product will depend on the liquidation procedure applicable to companies incorporated in the jurisdiction of the Bank. Upon insolvency of the Bank, the market value (or the termination value) of the product will be substantially less than the principal amount and there is a risk that the product may become valueless.
In the worst case scenario, you may get nothing back and the potential maximum loss could be 100% of principal amount and no interest will be received.

Scenario Analysis Disclaimer

The above scenarios are provided for illustrative purposes only, and do not reflect a complete analysis of all possible gain and loss scenarios that may arise during any actual investment. No representation or warranty is made by the Bank that any scenario described above can be duplicated under real investment conditions. Actual results may vary from the results shown above, and variations may be material.

Risk Disclosure

The net return in relation to Deposit Plus will depend upon market conditions prevailing at the deposit fixing time on the deposit fixing date. You must be prepared to incur loss as a result of depreciation in the value of the currency paid. Such loss may offset the interest earned on the deposit and may even result in losses in the principal amount of the deposit. Investment involves risks.You should carefully consider whether any investment products or services mentioned herein are appropriate for you in view of your risk appetite, investment experience, objectives, financial resources and circumstances. If you have any concerns about this product, you should consult your professional financial advisers.

  • Not a time deposit - Deposit Plus is NOT equivalent to, nor should it be treated as a substitute for, time deposit. It is NOT a protected deposit and is NOT protected by the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong.
  • Derivatives risk - Deposit Plus is embedded with FX option(s). Option transactions involve risks, especially when selling an option. Although the premium received from selling an option is fixed, you may sustain a loss well in excess of such premium amount, and your loss could be substantial.
  • Limited potential gain - The maximum potential gain is limited to the interest on the deposit.
  • Maximum potential loss - Deposit Plus is not principal protected. You must be prepared to incur loss as a result of depreciation in the value of the currency paid (if the deposit is converted to the linked currency at maturity). Such loss may offset the interest earned on the deposit and may even result in losses in the principal amount of the deposit.
  • Not the same as buying the linked currency - Investing in Deposit Plus is not the same as buying the linked currency directly.
  • Market risk - The net return of Deposit Plus will depend upon the exchange rate of the deposit currency against the linked currency prevailing at the deposit fixing time on the deposit fixing date. Movements in exchange rates can be unpredictable, sudden and drastic, and affected by complex political and economic factors.
  • Liquidity risk - Deposit Plus is designed to be held until maturity. You do not have a right to request early termination of this product before maturity.
  • Credit risk of the Bank - Deposit Plus is not secured by any collateral. When you invest in this product, you will be relying on the Bank’s creditworthiness. If the Bank becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations under this product, you can only claim as an unsecured creditor of the Bank. In the worst case, you could suffer a total loss of your deposit principal.
  • Currency risk - If the deposit currency and/or linked currency is not your home currency, and you may make a gain or loss due to exchange rate fluctuations.

Specific Risks related to Deposit Plus with Renminbi as Deposit Currency or Linked Currency

  • Renminbi currency risk - Renminbi is subject to exchange rate risk and is currently not freely convertible and conversion of Renminbi through banks in Hong Kong is subject to certain restrictions. In case you receive Linked Currency instead of Deposit Currency at maturity and you want to convert the maturity proceed back to Deposit Currency, you will be bound by the prevailing Renminbi exchange conversion restrictions and it may happen that such exchange cannot be performed.
  • Credit risk of counterparties - Derivatives instruments are involved in Deposit Plus and you are exposed to the credit risk of counterparties being the issuers of derivative instruments. In case the derivatives counterparty defaults and the bank suffers loss accordingly, the default risk of the bank with respect to the Deposit Plus payments will increase.
  • Commitment to the full Deposit Period - Early redemption is not allowed. In case you need to redeem a Deposit Plus before maturity and the bank agrees, the redemption amount will be determined at sole discretion of the bank and you must be prepared that you may incur a significant loss of the deposit principal.
  • Liquidity risk - Deposit Plus is not transferrable. There is no secondary market for trading Deposit Plus.
  • You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

    Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

    You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

    Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

高息投資存款

重要風險通知

  • 高息投資存款乃涉及金融衍生工具的結構性投資產品。投資決定是由閣下自行作出的,但閣下不應投資在高息投資存款,除非中介人於銷售該產品時已向閣下解釋經考慮閣下的財務情況、投資經驗及目標後,該產品是適合閣下的。除非閣下完全了解及願意承擔所涉風險,否則切勿投資此產品。閣下如對此產品所涉及風險有疑問,應詢問有關中介人或徵詢獨立專業意見。
  • 高息投資存款乃結構性投資產品。本產品並不屬於受保障存款及不會受香港的存款保障計劃所保障。

以下「風險披露」部份將列出其他風險因素,詳情請參閱有關部分。

立即行動

聯絡我們

特點及好處

透過商務「網上理財」開立高息投資存款,僅需港幣50,000元或其等值

因應您的財務需要1,選擇合適的存款貨幣及掛鈎貨幣 。高息投資存款提供多種貨幣選擇以切合您的外幣需要。舉例說,您可考慮選擇有購買貨物或本地支出的國家的貨幣,以配合您對外幣的需要

高息投資存款服務特別適合經常需要將資金由一種貨幣兌換成另一貨幣的企業,更可藉此實現取得更高回報的目標

可設定適合自己的存款期,由一星期至三個月不等

如果您可承受匯兌風險,這種存款服務可讓您獲取較一般港元或外幣定期存款更優厚的利息

您可隨意設定存款期及協定匯率,或採用高息投資存款利率,完全由您掌握

如何運作

以下例子說明在不同市場情況*對結算貨幣與回報的影響。

存款貨幣 港元
掛鈎貨幣 澳元
存款決定日 2012年11月13日
存款日 2012年11月15日
釐定日 2012年11月27日
到期日 2012年11月29日
計息期 14日
協定匯率^ 8.1043
存款額 港幣50,000元
高息投資存款利率 年利率13.12%.
在到期日 若在釐定日澳元兌港元的匯率相等或高於8.1043,我們會以港元支付本息。
若在釐定日澳元兌港元的匯率低於8.1043,我們會以澳元支付本息。

^依據2012年11月13日的參考匯價。


*以上的不同市場情況只供參考,回報須視乎釐定日的市況而定。
& 利息=本金x年利率x年期(日數) / [365日(如存款貨幣為港幣、新加坡元或英磅)或360日(如存款貨幣為其他外幣)]
§ 假設存款在到期日兌換成港元,而匯率為釐定日之匯率。 在最壞情況下,您投資的回報或掛鈎貨幣的價值或會大幅地少於您的投資金額(在極端的情況下您投資的金額可能會變成沒有價值。)

其他方案

1若您經滙豐商務網上理財開立的高息投資存款,您所選擇的存款貨幣或掛鈎貨幣中,其中一種必須為人民幣、港元或美元。

違約情況

如果銀行宣佈破產,您將會成為銀行的無抵押債權人,而您能收取有關產品之金額將取決於銀行受管轄區域註冊公司適用的清盤程序。當銀行宣佈破產,產品之市值(或終止價值)將遠低於其本金而且產品變成毫無價值之風險存在。於最壞情況下,您將不能收回任何本金或任何利息,因此最高潛在風險為損失100% 本金。

情況分析的免責聲明

上述的情況分析僅供舉例說明用途,未能全面反映及分析在任何實際投資情況下可能出現的所有盈虧情況。銀行並無作出表述或保證任何上述情況可代表實際的投資情況。存款的實際表現及回報可能有別於上述所示的表現情況,差異或會甚大。

風險披露

高息投資存款的淨回報須視乎存款釐定日之釐定時間的市況而定,客戶必須了解其相關風險。客戶可能會因支付貨幣的貶值而招致損失。此損失可能會抵銷存款所賺取的利息,甚至導致本金虧損。投資涉及風險,您應就本身的可接受的風險程度、投資經驗、投資目標、財政資源及其他條件,小心衡量自己是否適合參與任何投資項目。客戶若對此產品有任何疑問,應諮詢其專業財務顧問的意見。

  • 並非定期存款- 高息投資存款並不等同,亦不應被視為定期存款的代替品。本產品並不屬於受保障存款及不會受香港的存款保障計劃所保障。
  • 衍生工具風險 - 高息投資存款內含外匯期權。期權交易涉及風險,特別是出售期權。雖然出售期權所收取的期權金為固定,閣下仍可能蒙受超過該期權金的損失,且閣下可能有重大損失。
  • 潛在收益有限 - 最高潛在收益為存款利息。
  • 最大潛在虧損 - 高息投資存款並非保本產品。倘存款於到期時被轉換為掛鈎貨幣,閣下有可能因支付的貨幣貶值而招致損失。此等損失可能會抵銷存款所賺取的利息,甚至導致本金虧損。
  • 有別於買入掛鈎貨幣 - 投資於高息投資存款有別於直接買入掛鈎貨幣。
  • 市場風險 - 高息投資存款的淨回報須視乎於釐定日釐定時間存款貨幣兌掛鈎貨幣的匯率而定。匯率的變動可能出乎預料、突如其來而且幅度龐大,並受複雜的政治及經濟因素影響。
  • 流通性風險 - 高息投資存款乃為持有至到期而設。閣下無權在到期前要求提早終止本產品。
  • 銀行的信貸風險 - 高息投資存款並無以任何抵押品作抵押。當閣下購買本產品,閣下將承擔銀行的信貸風險。如銀行無力償債或未能履行其於本產品下的責任,閣下只可以銀行的無抵押債權人身份提出申索。在最壞情況下,閣下可能損失閣下的全部存款本金。
  • 貨幣風險 - 倘存款貨幣及/或掛鈎貨幣並非閣下的本土貨幣,而閣下於到期後選擇將其兌換成閣下的本土貨幣,則閣下有可能因匯率波動而獲得收益或招致虧損。
有關存款貨幣或掛鈎貨幣為人民幣的高息投資存款的特定風險
  • 人民幣貨幣風險-人民幣涉及匯率風險。人民幣現時並不能自由兌換,經香港銀行兌換人民幣會有相當限制。假若您於到期日收取掛鈎貨幣而非存款貨幣,而您欲把到期款項轉換回存款貨幣,則您將會受其時的人民幣兌換限制所局限,該兌換有可能沒法進行。
  • 交易對手的信貸風險-高息投資存款涉及衍生工具,而您會承受衍生工具發行者的交易對手信貸風險。假若衍生工具的交易對手違約而導致銀行損失,銀行就高息投資存款的付款違約風險將會增加。
  • 整個存款期的承諾-本產品不設提早贖回。假若您有必要於到期日前贖回一個高息投資存款而銀行亦同意,贖回金額將由銀行全權酌情釐定,您應為您有機會蒙受顯著的存款本金虧損作準備。
  • 流通風險-高息投資存款並不能轉讓,二手市場的流通性並不存在。

您將離開滙豐工商金融網站。

請注意其他網站的政策會跟我們網站的條款及細則和私隱政策有所不同。現在會開啟一個新的視窗進入另外一個網站。

Leaving Box Headings

Leaving Box Description