ASEAN

Combined, ASEAN forms one of the fastest growing economic powerhouses and is one of the world’s top five economies, behind the US, EU, China and Japan. Find out how HSBC can connect you to opportunities across ASEAN, and beyond.

Connecting businesses to where the growth is

Source: PwC, The Future of ASEAN: Time to Act

What is ASEAN?

At the centre of the Asian region is ASEAN – the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, formed in 1967. The association is made up of ten nations: Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Brunei, Lao, Myanmar and Cambodia. During ASEAN’s original inception, economic growth, social progress, cultural development and regional peace were cemented as the core principles by the founding nations and still stand strong today.

They have successfully weathered both the Asian financial crisis of 1997 and the global economic crisis of 2008-09, to make it one of the world’s top 5 economies. ASEAN’s countries equate to a total of 642 million people, accounting for over 8% of the world’s population with a GDP of US$2.76tn growing at a rate of 4.7% - this is significantly higher than any other global region and translates to a per capita metric of US$4,308.

Your guide to doing business in ASEAN

Through the years in ASEAN, HSBC has been part of the prosperous economic growth along the way. Today, ASEAN has become one of the world’s top 5 economies and the world’s fastest growing trade bloc, supported by its young dynamic and digital population.

How Hong Kong has become the key connector for ASEAN

  • An investment agreement between Hong Kong and ASEAN entered into force in June 2019
  • The ASEAN bloc was Hong Kong’s second-largest trading partner in 2018
  • The ASEAN bloc ranked fourth among Hong Kong’s leading destinations for outward direct investment as of the end of 2017
  • Hong Kong is an important entrepot for trade between mainland China and ASEAN, serving as a bridge between the two

HSBC ASEAN Forum: The new world economy


Presenters at the HSBC ASEAN New Economy Forum held in Hong Kong had a very clear message; there are ‘golden opportunities’ across the 6 major ASEAN markets for Hong Kong-based companies, driven by strong economic growth, a young and expanding consumer base and a well-established infrastructure for carrying out business.

Business benefits & opportunities in ASEAN

Now more than ever, companies from all over the world are looking to ASEAN to expand their operations from within the bloc around Asia and globally.

Download the ASEAN Report

Shifting demographics

ASEAN is home to a dynamic demographic with 35% of the population under 20 years old and 65% to be classed as middle income by 2030, raising spending to hit US$2.3 trillion.

Fast economic and trade growth

Currently, ASEAN as a trade bloc is one of the top 5 economies in the world, with its GDP set to exceed US$4tn by 20225. Current exports total US$1.3tn, with forecasts predicting exports to rise to US$2.8tn by 2025, making ASEAN the world's fastest-growing trade bloc2&3.

The rise of digital

ASEAN’s digital economy is growing rapidly, with expanding digital networks and growing numbers of mobile phone and Internet users – ASEAN has more people coming online than any other region in the world, with eCommerce forecast to grow to US$88 billion by 2025.

Cross-border connections

ASEAN has driven a significant reduction in trade barriers across the ASEAN and ASEAN + 6 (Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, The Republic of Korea), easing the cost and complexities of trading across the region – and continued easing of restrictions on labour movement for selected professions and new talent gives businesses access to a young dynamic workforce.

Sources:

1 HSBC in ASEAN (ISB Pitchbook)
2 ASEAN. Driving Your Ambition (Accenture ASEAN Consumer Research)
3 ASEAN Statistical Year Book 2018
4 ASEAN Investment Report 2018
5 PwC, The future of ASEAN: Time to act

Disclaimer

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

This article is distributed to provide general information about the subject matter covered and should not be utilized as a substitute for professional advice in specific situations. If you require such advice, please consult with your own professional advisers. Content and discussion are provided for informational purposes only, and do not constitute any commitment to underwrite, subscribe for or place any securities or to extend or arrange credit or to provide any other product or service.

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (the "Bank") neither endorses nor is responsible for the accuracy or reliability of, and under no circumstances will the Bank be liable for any loss or damage caused by reliance on, any opinion, advice or statement made in this video.

The information contained in the video embedded on this site may include information from third parties who the Bank believes to be reliable but such information will not have been independently verified by the Bank. The Bank makes no representations that involvement in any particular location, sector or industry is suitable for your circumstances. The Bank encourages you to obtain legal, financial and any other relevant advice before entering into a transaction.

The opinions and statistics expressed from featured sources, and except where a speaker is specifically identified as a representative of the Bank, do not represent the Bank's views. The opinions are subject to change without notice and should not be construed as a recommendation of any individual holdings or market sectors.

The Bank makes no representation or warranty (express or implied) of any nature with respect to the completeness or accuracy of any information, projection, representation or warranty (expressed or implied) in, or omission from, this webpage. No liability is accepted whatsoever for any direct, indirect or consequential loss arising from the use of this webpage.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

东盟

东盟,作为单一个体,是目前全球增长最快的经济体之一,於世界排行第五,仅次于美国丶欧盟丶中国和日本。了解更多有关汇丰如何助你把握东盟市场商机,实践抱负。

连系企业 接通东盟新机遇

资料来源:罗兵咸永道《 The Future of ASEAN: Time to Act》

东盟是甚麽?

东盟 - 东南亚国家联盟,位於亚洲的核心地区,於1967年正式成立。联盟由10个成员国组成,包括:新加坡丶马来西亚丶越南丶泰国丶菲律宾丶印尼丶汶莱丶老挝丶缅甸和柬埔寨。东盟成立之初,以推动经济增长丶社会进步丶文化发展以及区内和平为联盟的核心价值,时至今天仍然秉持初衷不变。

东盟顺利渡过1997年亚洲金融风暴和2008-2009年全球经济危机,跃身成为全球五大经济体之一。东盟成员国拥有合共6.42亿人口,占全球总人口逾8%,成员国的国内生产总值合共2.76万亿美元,增长率为4.7% , 远高於全球任何区域,人均生产总值为4,308美元。

你的东盟营商指南

多年来,汇丰一直积极参与东盟市场,见证其蓬勃经济增长。东盟地区的人口充满活力,社会走进数码年代,迄今已跻身全球五大经济体之一,成为全球增长最迅速的贸易区。

香港如何成为东盟的关键联系人

  • 东盟与香港自由贸易协定於2019年6月正式生效
  • 东盟地区是香港2018年第二大贸易夥伴
  • 截至2017年末,东盟地区是香港向外直接投资的第四大目的地
  • 香港是中国内地和东盟成员国重要的转口港,连接中国内地与东盟的桥梁

汇丰东盟经济论坛


於香港举办的汇丰东盟经济论坛上,讲者一致地指出,六个主要东盟市场的高速经济增长丶不断扩大的年轻消费市场丶以及成熟的基建,将为香港企业带来业务发展的「黄金机遇」。

东盟营商优势和机遇

时至今日,世界各地企业都把目光放在东盟,不但计划在区内发展业务,更期望把业务拓展至亚洲以至全球市场。

下载东盟报告
此报告内容只提供英文版本。

区内人口结构转型

东盟地区具有相当的活力,20岁以下的人口比例占整体的35%,预期於2030年中产阶级的比例将占总人口的65%,消费支出达2.3万亿美元。

经济与贸易增长迅速

作为一个贸易区,东盟目前是全球五大经济体之一,预期区内生产总值将於2022年超过4万亿美元5。东盟目前的总出口额为1.3万亿美元,预期将於2025年上升至2.8万亿美元。届时,东盟将成为全球增长最迅速的贸易区2&3

数码经济崛起

随着数码网络的不断拓展,加上流动电话和互联网用户数目日益上升,东盟的数码经济正快速增长 - 区内可上网的人数超越全球其他地区,预期2025年当地的电子商贸市场规模将增长至880亿美元。

跨境联系

东盟大大减除了东盟成员国与“东盟加六”(澳洲丶中国丶印度丶日本丶纽西兰丶韩国)之间的贸易壁垒措施,降低了跨地区的贸易成本和复杂性,并持续放宽对个别专业和引入新专才的劳动力流动限制,让企业能够吸纳年轻有活力的人才。

资料来源:

1 HSBC in ASEAN (ISB Pitchbook)
2 ASEAN. Driving Your Ambition (Accenture ASEAN Consumer Research)
3 ASEAN Statistical Year Book 2018
4 ASEAN Investment Report 2018
5 罗兵咸永道《 The future of ASEAN: Time to act》

免责声明

东南亚国家联盟(东盟)

本文章旨在提供有关涵盖事项的一般资讯,不应视作针对该特定情况下所作出的专业意见。如欲寻求专业意见,请向相关的专业人士谘询。本文章所载的内容及讨论仅供参考,并不构成包销丶认购及配售任何证券丶延长及安排信贷丶提供任何产品或服务的承诺。

对於影片所载资料的准确度或可靠性,香港上海汇丰银行有限公司(“本行”) 并无作出保证或承担任何责任。在任何情况下,本行概不就本影片的任何建议丶意见或陈述而引至的任何损失或破坏承担任何责任。

本网页影片所载的资料可能包含第三方资料,本行认为该等资料可靠,但并未经本行独立验证。本行对任何所涉的特定地点丶地区或行业的资料是否适用於阁下的情况并不发表任何声明。在进行交易前,请先寻求法律丶财务及任何其他相关的专业意见。

本网页的意见和数据来自相关来源,除非本行注明讲者为其代表,否则有关观点不可视为来自本行的建议。本网页内容所发表的意见,可予修改而毋须另行通知。内容不可视为对个人持有或市场策略的建议。

本行概不就本网页中任何资料丶预估丶声明或保证(明示或默示的)的完整性丶及时性或准确性或是遗漏作出任何性质的明示或默示的声明或保证,亦不就其承担任何责任。

您将离开汇丰工商金融网站。

请注意其他网站的政策会和我们网站的条款及细则和隐私政策有所不同。现在会打开一个新的浏览器窗口进入另外一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。