The Greater Bay Area

Bridging the GBA. Spanning the Globe.

Customer stories

GBA+ Technology Fund - Phase Scientific International Limited

Diagnosing a healthier future

Phase Scientific, a high-growth biotech company founded by bioengineers in 2015, established its global headquarters in Hong Kong in 2017 and has ambitious plans for developing the market for rapid diagnostics in China, by leveraging the comparative advantages of the cities comprising the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (GBA).

Improving diagnostics for all

Phase Scientific began with a mission to make testing for infectious diseases simpler, less expensive and more accessible. The company is also developing products that will enhance diagnostics not only in lab settings, but also in less formal testing environments such as homes and community centres. Dr. Ricky Chiu, Founder and CEO of Phase Scientific, commenting on these goals, said, “We are trying to extend diagnostics beyond the lab, decentralising access to testing kits for use by anyone regardless of their training.”

Given its expertise in rapid diagnostics, the company’s capabilities were particularly relevant when the COVID-19 pandemic hit in 2020. Dr. Chiu and his team quickly adapted Phase Scientific’s proprietary sample preparation technology for use in COVID-19 testing, a necessity at the time given the impact of economic lockdowns and strains on the healthcare system. People needed a fast and efficient way to test for COVID-19 at home or in other informal settings.

These conditions changed the landscape of diagnostics dramatically. Dr. Chiu explained that, “The demand for rapid testing capabilities skyrocketed. Our COVID-19 diagnostics were designed to reduce the time and costs associated with testing and ensure widespread access when it was needed most.”

To the GBA and beyond

A key part of Dr. Chiu’s decision to base Phase Scientific’s global operations in Hong Kong is its involvement in the GBA, seen as an ideal environment for biotech startups given its strong intellectual property protections and cross-border marketing channels. Not only do 80% of companies in the mainland, Hong Kong and Macao believe the GBA will grow faster than the rest of China,1 the networking synergies across the GBA cities are conducive to biotech innovation.

For example, Phase Scientific can lean on Hong Kong’s well regarded healthcare system as well as its academic reputation in infectious diseases for research and product distribution. Then locate its production and testing facilities in the GBA cities across the border where there are cost advantages. Such optionality allows biotech startups to fulfil all their requirements in the most efficient way possible, which explains why 66% of healthcare companies in the GBA are planning to expand their operations in the region.2

It also reinforces why connectivity is a key feature of the GBA’s development and a priority for HSBC’s support of companies therein. Businesses like Phase Scientific need a reliable partner to ramp up operations in the region, access its unique range of resources and leverage its connections with markets abroad.

Funding for innovative technology


To continue building its presence in the GBA as well as expanding its reach into the rest of China, Phase Scientific required access to funding. Dr. Chiu engaged HSBC’s GBA+ Technology Fund for financing to ramp up production of its diagnostic kits and expand its lab capacity to accommodate the demand for testing.

Describing his experience with the fund, which uses progressive assessment criteria to support early-stage startups, Dr. Chiu said that, “Besides offering attractive rates compared to other financing sources, the GBA+ Technology Fund is unique in that it provides an efficient and customised solution that meets our specific needs. Paired with HSBC’s understanding of technology companies, the fund helped us significantly when we were getting started and enabled us to pursue our expansion plans in the GBA”

What comes next?

Dr. Chiu sees the GBA as an essential part of his expansion plans in China, which will focus on cancer diagnostics and setting up service labs across the country. With 80% of China’s liquid biopsy companies located in the GBA, Dr. Chiu believes the region is strategically important to his company and has developed a “GBA gameplan” to capture emerging opportunities. The GBA+ Technology Fund was designed to support companies looking to expand their footprint in the region.



Commenting on the purpose of the fund, Frank Fang, Head of Commercial Banking, Hong Kong, HSBC, said, “The GBA+ Technology Fund is designed to empower innovative early-stage companies in capturing business opportunities in the GBA. Through supporting promising startups like Phase Scientific, we are contributing to making this region a powerhouse of creativity and strengthening the role of innovative technology in economic development.”

Looking ahead, Dr. Chiu and his team are working hard to push what is possible in rapid diagnostics and he sees the GBA as a springboard into the rest of China as well as international markets. Asked whether the GBA has the potential to become the next global biotech hub, Dr. Chiu responded with a resounding: “Yes”.



You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

瞬间连系 粤港澳大湾区新机遇

连世界通大湾 连通无限

客户故事

“大湾区+”科技信贷基金—相达生物科技

以检测洞悉健康未来

相达生物科技由多名生物工程师于2015年创立,并于2017年在香港设立全球总部。近年公司增长迅速,同时以拓展中国市场为抱负,希望结合粤港澳大湾区(下称”大湾区”)各城市的独特优势,释放中国快速检测行业的发展潜力。

提升效能 惠及大众


相达生物科技成立之初就秉承一个理念:为大众提供更简单、低成本和方便的传染病检测产品。多年来团队积极投入研发,让检测过程不再局限于实验室环境,而是可在家中或社区中心等日常环境内进行。相达生物科技创办人及行政总裁招彦焘博士在谈及公司的发展目标时表示:“我们希望将检测拓展至实验室以外的地方,并将检测试剂的应用普及化,让普罗大众在未经训练的情况下也能自行进行检测。”

始于2020年的新冠肺炎疫情,更展现出相达生物科技在快速检测领域的丰富经验和实力。疫情爆发初期,招博士和团队迅速将公司的专利采样技术应用于新冠病毒检测工作,让市民能够安在家中或其他日常环境下高效地进行检测,为当时全球各地实施封锁隔离措施、医疗系统面临严重压力的情况下提供亟需支援。

疫情为病毒检测行业的格局带来巨大变化。招博士解释道:“疫情下市场对快速检测产品需求急增。我们的新冠病毒检测试剂可减少检测时间和成本,满足各地开展大规模检测的迫切需要。”

走在大湾区科创前沿

相达生物科技在香港设立全球运营总部的其中一大关键,在于香港作为大湾区的一部分,且具备健全的知识产权保护制度以及多元跨境营销渠道。这些优势均为生物科技初创企业的发展营造了理想的环境。汇丰调查显示有高达80%的中国内地、香港以及澳门企业相信未来大湾区的增长速度将超越中国其他地区1,大湾区城市的协同效应也将为生物科技的创新带来裨益。

以相达生物科技为例,公司能凭借香港完善的医疗保健体系及在传染病领域的学术权威,进一步开展研究和产品营销,并在更具成本优势的大湾区城市设立生产和检测设施。通过灵活利用大湾区各城市的独有优势,生物科技初创企业能以最有效的方式满足业务需求。正因如此,有多达66%的大湾区医疗保健企业均计划在区内拓展运营2

这同时突显网络联系在整个大湾区发展的重要性,也是汇丰对区内企业的支援重点。一个值得信赖的业务伙伴能为相达生物科技等企业提供独有资源和与海外市场的联系机会,帮助企业进一步拓展业务。

为创新科技提供资金支持


随着相达生物科技在大湾区以及中国其他地区不断发展,企业需要足够流动资金支持。相达生物科技早前便成功获得汇丰“大湾区+”科技信贷基金,并利用所得资金加速检测试剂生产及拓展实验室检测能力,以满足市场对病毒检测产品的需求。

“大湾区+”科技信贷基金以灵活的前瞻性评估标准为处于发展初期的初创企业提供资金支持。招博士表示:“‘大湾区+’科技信贷基金除了比其他融资渠道提供更吸引的贷款利率外,更可因应我们独特的需求而量身打造不同高效融资方案。配合汇丰对科技企业的深入了解,这笔资金为我们的起步阶段提供了大力支持,驱动相达生物科技在大湾区拓展业务。”

展望未来

招博士视大湾区为相达生物科技在中国拓展业务的关键,未来公司业务将集中在癌症诊断以及在全国设立实验室。目前80%的中国液体活检企业均位于大湾区,招博士认为这一区域对相达生物科技具有重要策略意义,并制定了“大湾区发展蓝图”,推动企业更有效把握区内新机遇。汇丰的“大湾区+”科技信贷基金正可为这类有意在大湾区发展的企业提供支援。



谈及汇丰成立“大湾区+”创新科技信贷基金的宗旨,汇丰香港工商金融主管方啸表示:“汇丰推出 ‘大湾区+’科技信贷基金,目的是支持大湾区内高速成长的科创企业把握发展机遇。通过为相达生物科技这类具有高增长潜力的初创企业提供融资支持,汇丰将继续推动大湾区发展为区内充满活力的创新枢纽,让创新科技成为经济发展的核心引擎。”

展望未来,招博士和团队将继续致力于在快速检测领域进行研发和技术创新。对他而言,大湾区是一个进入中国其他地区乃至国际市场的重要跳板,同时极具潜力发展成为全球生物科技枢纽。



您将离开汇丰工商金融网站。

请注意其他网站的政策会和我们网站的条款及细则和隐私政策有所不同。现在会打开一个新的浏览器窗口进入另外一个网站。

您正在离开汇丰商业银行的网站。

请注意,外部网站的政策与我们网站的条款和条件以及隐私政策不同。 将在新浏览器窗口或选项卡中打开下一个网站。