• Growing my Business
    • Client Stories
    • Enable Growth

How to simplify processes for medical insurance?

  • Article

Accelerated by the pandemic, the digital transformation of how patients interact with healthcare providers, insurers, and banks, is now progressing at full speed.

Expectations around healthcare were already shifting before COVID-19 hit in early 2020, with patients seeking more transparency  and personalised services thanks to higher digital health literacy. Consumers also want to be more involved in their healthcare decisions.

Meanwhile, insurers’ goals in recent years have been to simplify operations and reduce paper-based processes, and banks are well-positioned to support this transformation through digital treasury solutions. This digital transformation is progressing at full speed.

These include embedding QR codes on renewal notices for premium collections. These codes connect to an interactive Point of Sales (iPoS) using the Faster Payments System (FPS), an instant payment platform. Payment confirmations and policy details can then be sent to insurers instantly through HSBC Business Connect, an API-enabled solution that also allows other payment options such as credit cards and e-wallets.

Virtual card programmes promoted by some banks can also facilitate bill settlement with hospitals and clinics. For instance, a patient under medical coverage usually pays partial for his or her medical treatment received, with the difference billed to the insurer by the hospital or clinic directly. Having each patient’s data tagged to unique virtual card number simplifies the reconciliation process, making it possible for hospitals and clinics to receive full payment within a couple of days. The added benefit of using a virtual card is the flexibility to customise card numbers for enhanced security. By leveraging cash management solutions, insurers today can easily automate and digitise their systems and processes, boosting operational and financial efficiency.

The rise of InsurTech is another trend worth noting. To navigate a changing landscape, insurance-bank partnerships have become common, such as HSBC and AXA’s packaged general insurance offering for HSBC’s business customers in Hong Kong. Other examples include efforts to expand distribution through the traditional bancassurance business model and the use of digital technology to provide value-added services, such as the offerings through HSBC Life Benefits+’s mobile app, which digitises and accelerates interactions between patients, insurers and medical practitioners.

New technologies and changing consumer behaviour are not only improving healthcare and insurance, but also creating opportunities for unique partnerships.

Find out more in Protecting the future, today: Insurers modernising cash management processes [PDF, 578KB].

Call us on

+852 2748 8288

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 发展我的业务
    • 促进增长

如何令医疗保险变得更简单?

  • 文章

疫情不单令数码平台受到重视,亦迅速改变了患者、医疗服务、保险公司和银行之间的互动方式。

早在2020年初新冠疫情爆发以前,大众对医疗保健服务的期望已转变,信息科技发达以及消费者数字素养的提升,令消费者期待服务变得个人化和方便透明,甚至希望更积极参与个人健康的决定。

近年,不少保险公司均在想办法简化理赔程序,尤其是要减少对纸质单据的依赖,而银行正好可以提供能够满足资金管理所需的数字化解决方案。这些数字改变其实经已实践。

例如,一些投保人续保通知书上已经引入的动态二维码,二维码又连接了支持”快速支付系统”(即”转数快”,简体FPS的实时支付平台)的交互式销售点(iPoS),令交易确认讯息及付款详情可通过汇丰”智丰收”内的API连接技术实时发送给保险公司,而”智丰收”本身亦兼容信用卡及电子货币包等选项。

一些银行推出的虚拟卡计划也有助保险公司跟医院和诊所更快完成付款结账。每当受保的患者支付部份医疗费用,医疗机构就会再向保险公司追收差额,保险公司可以通过每笔虚拟卡交易的患者关联数据加快对账程序,而医院和诊所也可在1至2天内收齐整笔费用。虚拟卡的额外优势是能够灵活设定卡号,提升使用时的安全性。由此可见保险公司可以借助资金管理产品,实现系统自动化和数据升级,提高经营和财务效率。

保险科技的兴起也是另一趋势。在瞬息万变的市场环境中,保险公司与银行建立合作关系并非罕见,例如汇丰就与安盛的合作,为汇丰香港企业客户提供综合保险产品。除了透过传统的银行保险业务模式拓宽销售渠道,也以数字技术提供增值服务,譬如由汇丰人寿为团体医疗推出的手机应用程序Benefits+,使患者、保险公司和医生之间的互动变得更便捷。

这些新技术的出现和消费者行为的演变,除了令医疗服务和保险业更进步,也缔造了更多企业相互合作的独特良机。

想了解更多,请浏览把握现在,保障未来:保险公司致力推动现代化资金管理流程 [PDF, 661 KB]

了解更多

需要帮助?

联络我们以了解更多关于理财解决方案以及如何帮助你推动业务发展的资讯。