• Growing my Business
    • Enable Growth
    • Seeking New Opportunities

Does ESG matter to Hong Kong enterprises?

  • Article

ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) has become a focus for global corporates and investors in recent years. The UN Climate Change Conference (COP26) held in Glasgow in 2021 also saw countries and national leaders renew their pledges and consensus on sustainable development. In Hong Kong, ESG strategy and planning, once treated as an aspirational or optional area of reporting, is now a key strategic consideration.

Does ESG bring any commercial benefits to small-and-medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) though? At Hong Kong Economic Summit 2022, experts have shared their perspectives on how it should be approached:

  • A variety of green financing products and solutions is already available

    Green finance is instrumental to the transition to a low carbon economy. Banks have been rolling out a huge variety of green financing products and solutions to meet SMEs’ needs, to be a helping hand in their green transition. Meanwhile, some banks have also introduced Green Deposits as an avenue for SMEs to put their cash reserves to work financing environmentally beneficial projects and promoting the sustainability agenda through their treasury activities.
  • Low carbon transition is strategic for long-term success

    To many investors, whether a business can transition into a green and low-carbon business model has become a crucial consideration. ESG-conscious SMEs will not only attract investors, but also a new generation of values driven talent. Start-ups are also paying attention to ESG and so start-ups that are staff, product, and socially responsible have the potential to enjoy more success in the long run as opposed to their counterparts who don’t.
  • Sustainable financing ecosystem brings business opportunities

    Given Hong Kong and mainland China have already set their net-zero targets for 2050 and 2060 respectively, their closer collaborations on green finance can be expected. At the same time, the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area is also evolving a more mature green financing ecosystem and sparking subsequent demand for low carbon innovation projects. SMEs that have ESG specialties will see further business opportunities opening up in green trading, green supply chains, etc all of which will propel business growth.

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 发展我的业务
    • 促进增长
    • 寻找新机会

ESG对港企有何启示和意义?

  • 文章

ESG(环境、社会和企业管治)近年已成为环球企业和各地投资者的关注焦点。2021年在苏格兰格拉斯哥举行的第26届联合国气候变化大会(COP26)更进一步推动各国在全球可持续发展作出承诺和达成共识。在香港,ESG策略及计划过去总被视为“可有可无”,如今却成为了业务发展的关键。

中小企引入ESG,能为发展带来什么好处?由汇丰赞助的“香港经济峰会2022”的讨论当中,各专家就此议题分享了以下观点:

  • 多元化的绿色融资产品与方案

    在推动低碳转型过程中,绿色金融是不可或缺的关键力量,而银行通过推出多元化的绿色融资产品与方案,以满足中小企业的需要,协助他们转型成绿色企业。同时,个别银行也会为中小企业提供绿色存款产品, 通过简易方式让中小企参与可持续发展项目,将可持续发展议程融入日常财务活动中。
  • 低碳转型有助长远策略性发展

    对不少投资者而言,企业能否成功走上绿色低碳转型旅程,是其投资考虑的一大因素。具有社会责任及环保意识的中小企不但获投资者青睐,也更能吸引相近价值观的新世代人才。初创企业对ESG关注度也正提高,若初创企业对员工、产品及社会等具有责任,相比不重视ESG的初创会有更长远的发展。
  • 绿色生态圈带来商机

    中国内地及香港分别订下在2060年前和2050年前实现碳中和目标,两地推动绿色金融上的合作料将愈来愈紧密。同时,粤港澳大湾区绿色生态圈发展也渐趋成熟,对有关低碳创新项目需求殷切。在ESG方面具专长的中小企可在绿色贸易、绿色供应链等多个领域寻求商机,促进自身业务增长。

欲发掘更多专家与行业领袖对ESG发展的见解?请通过以下链接重温“香港经济峰会2022”的精彩内容。

致电给我们

+852 2748 8288

需要帮助?

联络我们以了解更多关于理财解决方案以及如何帮助你推动业务发展的资讯。