• Sustainability
    • Environmental

Fulfilling an environmental promise – Pacific Textiles

  • Article

How a Hong Kong textile company grew into a global business with a sustainable mission, supported by HSBC’s financing solutions and insights?

Founded in 1997, this Hong Kong-based manufacturer began with a production facility in Panyu, Guangdong province in mainland China. As its business grew, Pacific Textiles listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 2007, and over the next few years launched a textile mill in Vietnam and a subsidiary in Sri Lanka.

Since its founding, Pacific Textiles has developed core strengths in knit fabric processing, dyeing and printing. Now the company supplies fabrics to over 100 brands from around the world.


Sustainability at work

Sustainability is a vital part of the textile industry’s future. This is about fulfilling a promise to our society and next generation.

Masaru Okutomi | Chairman and CEO of Pacific Textiles

Over the past 20 years, the company has invested significantly to make their manufacturing processes more sustainable.

In 2008, for example, Pacific Textiles pioneered the use of low liquor waterflow dyeing machines at its Panyu facility, which saw further upgrades in 2020. As a result, 30% of the wastewater used in the dyeing process can now be purified through reverse osmosis technology. This volume is expected to reach 48% by 2025.

Energy conservation is another key focus area. To this end, the sludge produced from wastewater treatment processes is being upcycled as biofuel to serve as an alternative source of energy. Pacific Textiles is also committed to increasing its use of other renewable energies including solar and wind power to cut emissions.

A strong and stable partnership

HSBC has been working with Pacific Textiles since 1997, a relationship that is built on a shared vision of sustainability and growth.

“HSBC has always been very supportive of our vision for sustainability and business growth. Not only did HSBC provide timely funding for our green projects, particularly in boosting our tech capacity and upskilling our employees, but their broader product offerings also helped us improve our capital efficiency and mitigate foreign exchange risks,” Okutomi added.

Pacific Textiles is now building a new plant in Vietnam and its operations will be subject to the company’s ESG targets. HSBC is financing the project, giving it the backing it needs.

At HSBC, we are leveraging our industry expertise and product capabilities to help Pacific Textiles embed sustainability across their business and create long-term value, and we look forward to continuing to work closely with the company.

Dick Wong | Head of Commercial Banking, Greater Bay Area, HSBC

As part of its climate strategy, HSBC has pledged between USD750 billion and USD1 trillion in sustainable financing and investment by 2030 to support customers from all sectors on their sustainability journeys. Read more about HSBC’s commitment here.

Today, we and many of our customers contribute to greenhouse gas emissions. We have a strategy to reduce our own emissions and to help our customers reduce theirs. Find out more about our climate strategy: www.hsbc.com/sustainability

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 可持续发展
    • 环境保护

实践对环境的承诺 ─ 互太纺织

  • 文章

了解香港其中一家纺织公司如何通过汇丰的融资方案和专业见解,成为肩负可持续使命的全球企业

互太纺织1997年3 月于香港成立,并在广东省番禺设厂。随着业务发展,互太纺织于 2007 年在香港联合交易所上市,其后数年间又在越南开设纺织厂及于斯里兰卡设立子公司。

互太纺织在针织、染色和印花等方面自成立以来发展出相当的实力。时至今日,该公司正为世界各地 100 多个品牌提供织布料。


实践可持续发展

可持续性是纺织业未来的重要一环。这是为了兑现我们对社会和下一代的承诺。

奥富胜 | 互太纺织主席兼行政总裁

在过去的 20 年中,互太纺织进行了大量投资令制造过程更具持续性。

例如,2008 年互太纺织率先在其番禺厂房使用低浴比水流染缸,更在 2020 年进一步升级。因此,印染过程中所用的 30% 的污水可以通过反渗透技术进行净化。到 2025 年,净化比率预计将可达到 48%。

节能是另一个重点。互太纺织在污水处理时产生的污泥通过升级循环成为生物燃料,并用作替代能源。此外,公司也致力使用更多其他可再生能源以减少排放,包括太阳能和风能。

强而稳定的伙伴关系

汇丰自 1997 年就一直和互太纺织合作,双方的合作以可持续发展及增长的共同愿景为根基。

奥富胜表示:“汇丰一直十分支持我们实现可持续发展及业务增长的愿景。不但为我们的绿色项目及时提供资金,满足了我们提升技术和员工技能时的所需,他们广泛的产品对我们提高资金效率并降低外汇风险都有帮助。”

互太纺织目前正在兴建越南的新厂房,其运营也需达到公司的 ESG 目标。汇丰正为该项目提供资金,为他们提供所需的支持。

汇丰致力寻求合作机会,帮助公司创造长远价值。运用我们的专业知识和产品服务,我们正协助互太纺织将可持续发展融入他们的业务,我们也期待与他们继续紧密合作。

黄兆伟 | 汇丰大湾区工商金融董事总经理

为应对气候战略,汇丰承诺会在 2030 年前提供 7500 亿美元至 1 万亿美元的可持续融资和投资,支持各行各业的客户实现可持续发展。阅读更多有关汇丰的零碳经济承诺

目前,汇丰和部分客户仍有排放温室气体。我们已制订气候策略,以降低业务的碳排放,并致力协助客户减排。请浏览www.hsbc.com/sustainability以了解更多有关汇丰气候策略的信息。

需要帮助?

联络我们以了解更多关于理财解决方案以及如何帮助你推动业务发展的资讯。