GBA Customer Stories

Back to The Greater Bay Area

Bridging the GBA. Spanning the Globe.

Customer stories

Lalamove: Moving things that matter, better

The logistics industry acts as the veins of a modern economy. Lalamove, an on-demand delivery platform founded in Hong Kong, strives to be the beating heart at the centre of this evolving market landscape by making on-demand same-day delivery possible for everyone, all at the touch of a button.

Established in Hong Kong in 2013, Lalamove today is active in 11 market across Asia and Latin America, connecting a huge network of 10 million users and 1.8 million driver partners around the world. With a strong belief in the power of community, the company is dedicated to empowering local communities in the markets in which it operates, from individual users to micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs) as well as driver partners, by making delivery fast and simple. The company’s vision is to become synonymous with delivery through fast, flexible services.

Technology and innovation are essential drivers in achieving this vision and providing Lalamove with a competitive edge. The importance of these drivers stems from the rise in the popularity of e-commerce and the mobile internet over the last decade, as well as the growth of applications for advanced technologies, all of which have expedited the digitisation of the supply chain and created an exciting arena for smart logistics.

To build an innovative on-demand platform that meets the world’s delivery needs while easing the pain points in the logistics industry, Lalamove has actively adopted data-driven solutions and applied technologies that make its services and operations more efficient and intelligent. These technologies support the optimisation of the company’s app and analytics, and they enhance operations by improving the onboarding process for drivers and customers.

Digital transformation is enabling businesses to grow in a sustainable way. At the same time, a trusted banking partner can provide the strong financial backing that allows a business to thrive.

As Lalamove’s banking partner for almost a decade, HSBC was one of the first banks to provide financing solutions to the company and did so under its GBA+ Technology Fund. Through this fund, HSBC provided robust support as the company expanded into the Greater Bay Area (GBA) and other markets. The financial backing took the relationship between Lalamove and HSBC to a new level and demonstrated the company’s ability to raise funds despite prevailing market conditions.

Shing_Chow_Lalamove_quote_EN

The GBA is developing into a global hub for innovation and technology, and it has already proven to be a good incubator for start-ups and other businesses in the new economy, thanks to its access to infrastructure and talent in the sphere of research and development. The region’s large diverse customer base and its booming e-commerce market are creating a promising environment for the prosperity of the logistics industry. As Lalamove continues to expand its footprint in the GBA and globally, HSBC’s international capabilities, banking solutions and cash-management solutions are proving to be key to supporting the company beyond financing.

 Anita_Ou_HSBC_quote_EN
Lalamove visual_EN

HSBC is committed to supporting the next generation of leading technology companies by helping them expand both locally and internationally. The GBA+ Technology Fund, launched in 2019, is a debt fund of USD1.13 billion focused on supporting fast-growing technology companies in the GBA. To date, the fund has helped over 50 companies to thrive.

Looking ahead, alongside building a smart logistics platform, Lalamove is placing equal importance on social responsibility. During the pandemic, the company launched a series of initiatives under its ‘Deliver Care’ scheme to help local business communities and people in need. In Hong Kong, Lalamove was able to help its MSME customers stay afloat by tailoring its delivery services and providing a free channel through which they could promote their businesses. The company also launched its own support hotline and free logistics services to aid non-governmental organisations that needed to transport supplies for preventing the spread of the epidemic.

What matters to Lalamove is not just delivering goods, but also making a positive impact on the communities it serves.

GBA+ Technology Fund - Phase Scientific International Limited

Diagnosing a healthier future

Phase Scientific, a high-growth biotech company founded by bioengineers in 2015, established its global headquarters in Hong Kong in 2017 and has ambitious plans for developing the market for rapid diagnostics in China, by leveraging the comparative advantages of the cities comprising the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (GBA).

Improving diagnostics for all

Phase Scientific began with a mission to make testing for infectious diseases simpler, less expensive and more accessible. The company is also developing products that will enhance diagnostics not only in lab settings, but also in less formal testing environments such as homes and community centres. Dr. Ricky Chiu, Founder and CEO of Phase Scientific, commenting on these goals, said, “We are trying to extend diagnostics beyond the lab, decentralising access to testing kits for use by anyone regardless of their training.”

Given its expertise in rapid diagnostics, the company’s capabilities were particularly relevant when the COVID-19 pandemic hit in 2020. Dr. Chiu and his team quickly adapted Phase Scientific’s proprietary sample preparation technology for use in COVID-19 testing, a necessity at the time given the impact of economic lockdowns and strains on the healthcare system. People needed a fast and efficient way to test for COVID-19 at home or in other informal settings.

These conditions changed the landscape of diagnostics dramatically. Dr. Chiu explained that, “The demand for rapid testing capabilities skyrocketed. Our COVID-19 diagnostics were designed to reduce the time and costs associated with testing and ensure widespread access when it was needed most.”

To the GBA and beyond

A key part of Dr. Chiu’s decision to base Phase Scientific’s global operations in Hong Kong is its involvement in the GBA, seen as an ideal environment for biotech startups given its strong intellectual property protections and cross-border marketing channels. Not only do 80% of companies in the mainland, Hong Kong and Macao believe the GBA will grow faster than the rest of China,1 the networking synergies across the GBA cities are conducive to biotech innovation.

For example, Phase Scientific can lean on Hong Kong’s well regarded healthcare system as well as its academic reputation in infectious diseases for research and product distribution. Then locate its production and testing facilities in the GBA cities across the border where there are cost advantages. Such optionality allows biotech startups to fulfil all their requirements in the most efficient way possible, which explains why 66% of healthcare companies in the GBA are planning to expand their operations in the region.2

It also reinforces why connectivity is a key feature of the GBA’s development and a priority for HSBC’s support of companies therein. Businesses like Phase Scientific need a reliable partner to ramp up operations in the region, access its unique range of resources and leverage its connections with markets abroad.

Funding for innovative technology

To continue building its presence in the GBA as well as expanding its reach into the rest of China, Phase Scientific required access to funding. Dr. Chiu engaged HSBC’s GBA+ Technology Fund for financing to ramp up production of its diagnostic kits and expand its lab capacity to accommodate the demand for testing.

Describing his experience with the fund, which uses progressive assessment criteria to support early-stage startups, Dr. Chiu said that, “Besides offering attractive rates compared to other financing sources, the GBA+ Technology Fund is unique in that it provides an efficient and customised solution that meets our specific needs. Paired with HSBC’s understanding of technology companies, the fund helped us significantly when we were getting started and enabled us to pursue our expansion plans in the GBA”

What comes next?

Dr. Chiu sees the GBA as an essential part of his expansion plans in China, which will focus on cancer diagnostics and setting up service labs across the country. With 80% of China’s liquid biopsy companies located in the GBA, Dr. Chiu believes the region is strategically important to his company and has developed a “GBA gameplan” to capture emerging opportunities. The GBA+ Technology Fund was designed to support companies looking to expand their footprint in the region.

Commenting on the purpose of the fund, Frank Fang, Head of Commercial Banking, Hong Kong, HSBC, said, “The GBA+ Technology Fund is designed to empower innovative early-stage companies in capturing business opportunities in the GBA. Through supporting promising startups like Phase Scientific, we are contributing to making this region a powerhouse of creativity and strengthening the role of innovative technology in economic development.”

Looking ahead, Dr. Chiu and his team are working hard to push what is possible in rapid diagnostics and he sees the GBA as a springboard into the rest of China as well as international markets. Asked whether the GBA has the potential to become the next global biotech hub, Dr. Chiu responded with a resounding: “Yes”.

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

大灣區客戶故事

返回: 粤港澳大灣區

連世界通大灣 連通無限

客戶故事

Lalamove—以智能配送服務為社會創造正面價值

物流業被視為反映環球經濟脈搏的重要行業。Lalamove作為香港成立的即時送貨平台,一直於瞬息萬變的物流市場擔當核心角色,務求讓大眾只要一機在手,便能透過應用程式輕鬆獲得物流解決方案。

Lalamove於2013年成立至今 ,業務遍及亞洲和拉丁美洲11 個市場,其龐大網絡連繫全球超過1千萬用戶及180萬司機合作夥伴。Lalamove深信凝聚社群的力量,致力為客戶及合作司機提升營運市場的業務效率,為當地個人用戶、中小企業或微企提供更簡單快捷的物流方案,以及為合作司機提供靈活賺取收入的機會,Lalamove的願景是透過提供靈活便捷的物流服務,成為配送(Delivery)的代名詞。

Lalamove的科技優勢及創新精神一直推動公司實現此願景,亦為公司帶來獨特競爭優勢。隨著電子商務和移動網絡於過去10年愈趨普及,以及應用科技的蓬勃發展,不但大幅加速供應鏈的數碼化,更為智能物流市場帶來前所未見的增長潛力。

作為一個以科技推動的創新平台,以滿足全球不同市場的物流需求,同時緩解物流業普遍面對的痛點,Lalamove積極採用數據主導的解決方案,應用創新科技提升服務及日常營運的效率和智能化水平。這些技術不但有助Lalamove進一步完善平台及數據分析能力,也為新加入合作司機和客戶提供更流暢的註冊流程。

數碼轉型是不同企業實踐可持續增長的重要一環,與此同時,值得信賴的銀行夥伴也能成為企業業務發展的強大財務後盾。

滙豐與Lalamove合作近10年,是其中一間最先為公司提供融資方案的金融機構。早前,滙豐向Lalamove提供「大灣區+」科技信貸基金的額度,為其拓展粵港澳大灣區(簡稱「大灣區」)及其他市場的過程提供資金。此融資除了將公司及滙豐的合作關係提升至新層次,也展現出Lalamove於目前市場環境下的卓越籌資能力。

 Shing_Chow_Lalamove_quote_HK

大灣區正全力發展為國際科技創新中心,憑藉其完善基礎設施建設和豐富研發人才,大灣區被視為新經濟初創公司及各類企業的理想搖籃。此外,區內廣泛多元的客戶群體和蓬勃發展的電商市場,均為物流行業創造了極具潛力的發展前景。隨著Lalamove於大灣區以至全球市場拓展業務,滙豐的環球業務優勢和全面的理財與資金管理服務均能為公司提供融資以外的銀行支援。

 Anita_Ou_HSBC_quote_HK

滙豐一直致力支持新一代科技企業拓展本地及國際市場。滙豐的「大灣區+」科技信貸基金於2019年設立,總額為11.3億美元,旨在重點為大灣區內高速成長的科技企業提供融資支持。目前這項基金已協助超過50間企業的業務發展。

 Lalamove visual_HK

展望未來,Lalamove除了會繼續以科技建構物流平台,亦視社會責任為發展重點。疫情期間,公司透過「Deliver Care」計劃,推出一系列措施支援有需要的企業及社群。在香港,Lalamove 除了為中小企客戶提供度身訂造的物流配套,幫助中小企轉型變陣外,在疫情期間更為中小企提供免費業務推廣渠道,支持他們在疫情下維持營運。同時,Lalamove也為社福機構設立支援熱線,豁免社福機構物流費用以運送防疫物資。

Lalamove不單希望為各市場提供快速可靠物流服務,更希望為當地社會創造價值,及帶來正面影響。

「大灣區+」科技信貸基金—相達生物科技

以檢測洞悉健康未來

相達生物科技由多名生物工程師於2015年創立,並於2017年在香港設立全球總部。近年公司增長迅速,同時以拓展中國市場為抱負,希望結合粵港澳大灣區(下稱「大灣區」)各城市的獨特優勢,釋放中國快速檢測行業的發展潛力。

提升效能 惠及大眾

相達生物科技成立之初就秉承一個理念:為大眾提供更簡單、低成本和方便的傳染病檢測產品。多年來團隊積極投入研發,讓檢測過程不再侷限於實驗室環境,而是可於家中或社區中心等日常環境內進行。相達生物科技創辦人及行政總裁招彥燾博士在談及公司的發展目標時表示:「我們希望將檢測拓展至實驗室以外的地方,並將檢測試劑的應用普及化,讓普羅大眾在未經訓練的情況下也能自行進行檢測。」

始於2020年的新冠肺炎疫情,更展現出相達生物科技在快速檢測領域的豐富經驗和實力。疫情爆發初期,招博士和團隊迅速將公司的專利採樣技術應用於新冠病毒檢測工作,讓市民能夠安在家中或其他日常環境下高效地進行檢測,為當時全球各地實施封鎖隔離措施、醫療系統面臨嚴重壓力的情況下提供亟需支援。

疫情為病毒檢測行業的格局帶來巨大變化。招博士解釋道:「疫情下市場對快速檢測產品需求急增。我們的新冠病毒檢測試劑可減少檢測時間和成本,滿足各地開展大規模檢測的逼切需要。」

走在大灣區創科前沿

相達生物科技在香港設立全球營運總部其中一大關鍵,在於香港作為大灣區的一部分,且具備健全的知識產權保護制度以及多元跨境營銷渠道。這些優勢均為生物科技初創企業的發展營造了理想的環境。滙豐調查顯示有高達80%的中國內地、香港以及澳門企業相信未來大灣區的增長速度將超越中國其他地區1 ,大灣區城市的協同效應亦將為生物科技的創新帶來裨益。

以相達生物科技為例,公司能憑藉香港完善的醫療保健體系及在傳染病領域的學術權威,進一步開展研究和產品行銷,並在更具成本優勢的大灣區城市設立生產和檢測設施。透過靈活利用大灣區各城市的獨有優勢,生物科技初創企業能以最有效的方式滿足業務需求。正因如此,有多達66%的大灣區醫療保健企業均計劃於區內擴展營運2

這同時突顯網絡連繫在整個大灣區發展的重要性,也是滙豐對區内企業的支援重點。一個值得信賴的業務夥伴能為相達生物科技等企業提供獨有資源和與海外市場的聯繫機會,助企業進一步拓展業務。

為創新科技提供資金支持

隨著相達生物科技在大灣區以及中國其他地區不斷發展,企業需要足夠流動資金支持。相達生物科技早前便成功獲得滙豐「大灣區+」科技信貸基金,並利用所得資金加速檢測試劑生產及擴展實驗室檢測能力,以滿足市場對病毒檢測產品的需求。

「大灣區+」科技信貸基金以靈活的前瞻性評估標準為處於發展初期的初創企業提供資金支持。招博士表示:「『大灣區+』科技信貸基金除了比其他融資渠道提供更吸引的貸款利率外,更可因應我們獨特的需求而度身訂造不同高效融資方案。配合滙豐對科技企業的深入了解,這筆資金為我們的起步階段提供了大力支持,驅動相達生物科技在大灣區拓展業務。」

展望未來

招博士視大灣區為相達生物科技在中國拓展業務的關鍵,未來公司業務將集中在癌症診斷以及在全國設立實驗室。目前80%的中國液體活檢企業均位於大灣區,招博士認為這區域對相達生物科技具有重要策略意義,並制定了「大灣區發展藍圖」,推動企業更有效把握區內新機遇。滙豐的「大灣區+」科技信貸基金正可為這類有意在大灣區發展的企業提供支援。

談及滙豐成立「大灣區+」創新科技信貸基金的宗旨,滙豐香港工商金融主管方嘯表示:「滙豐推出『大灣區+』科技信貸基金,目的是支持大灣區內高速成長的創科企業把握發展機遇。透過為相達生物科技這類具有高增長潛力的初創企業提供融資支持,滙豐將繼續推動大灣區發展為充滿活力的創新樞紐,讓創新科技成為經濟發展的核心引擎。」

展望未來,招博士和團隊將繼續致力在快速檢測領域進行研發和技術創新。對他而言,大灣區是一個進入中國其他地區乃至國際市場的重要跳板,同時極具潛力發展成為全球生物科技樞紐。

需要幫助?

聯絡我們以了解更多關於理財解決方案以及如何幫助你推動業務發展的資訊。