The Greater Bay Area

Bridging the GBA. Spanning the Globe.

Sustainable Finance

Sustainable development has become one of the strategic priorities in the Guangzhou-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (‘Greater Bay Area’), accruing infinite impetus to the innovation and implementation of green finance in the region. As an international financial centre, Hong Kong is well positioned to leverage its unique advantages and become a prominent green finance hub for the Greater Bay Area, Asia and beyond. The story continues.

Current development and future prospects

The following infographic outlines the development of green finance in the Greater Bay Area, the role that Hong Kong is playing and the opportunities for the city going forward.

 

HSBC’s support to the green transformation of businesses

A Waste-to-Energy story: Building a green future in the Greater Bay Area

The pace and scale of China’s economic transformation into the second-largest economy1 in the world has no historical precedent. Its 30-year economic boom and urbanisation greatly improved people’s living standards, yet this has come at a cost: a surge in urban waste. 

China produced nearly 230 million tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) in 2018.2 This is equivalent to filling 92,000 Olympic-sized swimming pools.

The Chinese Central Government (Central Government) has been advocating for the implementation of initiatives that will safely dispose of solid waste and encourage reduction and recycling. This has presented a shift away from traditional landfill methods to more environmentally friendly and sustainable solutions such as waste-to-energy (WTE) technologies.

Chapter 1: Turning trash into power

Canvest Environmental Protection Group Company Limited (Canvest), a Chinese leading WTE company headquartered in Hong Kong, has been making great strides to address China’s waste issue. As of March 2020, the daily MSW processing capacity of the company’s 30 projects across 12 provinces and municipalities in China reached over 45,000 tonnes.3

WTE is a sustainable, clean and effective way to process MSW by converting non-recyclable waste into usable forms of energy. During the process, the combustion of waste generates steam that drives turbo generators to produce electricity. The technology reduces the demand for landfills and fossil-fuelled power plants which release harmful toxins and greenhouse gases into the air and waterways.

In recent years, many developed countries have adopted WTE technologies as their key source of waste treatment. In 2018, over 50% of waste produced in Finland, Sweden and Norway was incinerated through WTE technologies;4 while Japan reported around 70% in 2019.5

“Canvest is committed to addressing environmental pollution, while at the same time, transforming waste into sustainable energy. In that way, we are fostering a harmonious coexistence of economic development and the natural environment and this is closely aligned with our mission of ‘protecting green ecology and contributing to clean energy’.” said Loretta Lee, Chairlady of Canvest.

“In 2019, Canvest processed over 5.9 million tonnes of MSW through its WTE technology and sold around 2 million MW of green electricity. This equated to forgoing 630,000 tonnes of standard sized coals and offsetting over 2.8 million tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent emissions.” according to Lee.

Chapter 2: Lucid Waters and Lush Mountains

Vast opportunities for WTE technologies in the region are expected given China’s ambitious plans to tackle its waste. As part of its Thirteenth Five Year Plan, the Central Government driven by its ‘Lucid Waters and Lush Mountains are Invaluable Assets’ concept has developed the ‘Beautiful China’ initiative. Part of the initiative is to encourage cities and counties across China to increase their sustainable management of MSW. The development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (GBA) adds to the company’s positive outlook on Southern China. The plans for the GBA, introduced in 2019, highlight green energy and environmental protection as key areas for development.

Looking specifically at Guangdong, in 2018 it was the largest waste producing province in China. In addition, the province’s cities of Guangzhou and Dongguan, were among the top ten cities in China with the largest production of MSW.6 Fortunately, this is also where Canvest has a significant presence. “We are the largest private WTE company in Guangdong province with 14 operating plants across the region that processes a daily waste capacity of 22,000 tonnes,” said Lee.

“As the region continues to develop economically, alongside the steady growth in population and waste generated, we should expect an increase in demand for environmental investment. Canvest will continue to play a leading role in promoting WTE technologies to enhance conservation and the sustainable development of the region.” stated Lee.

Chapter 3: Green finance to support

In response to these trends, Canvest has been expanding across the two main streams of the solid waste management industry: supply chain and third-party channels. To make this possible, HSBC Hong Kong has provided project funding for Canvest through green financing solutions and HSBC China has provided the same support through its Sustainable Financing Programme. The funds and incentives will support Canvest’s acquisitions and help optimise WTE projects to streamline efficiencies and reduce operating costs.

HSBC China is the first foreign-funded bank to offer this kind of incentive scheme in mainland China.7

Lee spoke openly about business operations, “The WTE business is very capital intensive. Not only does it require a large amount of capital for project development, operations, and optimisation, but the increasingly tightening disclosure agreements from regulatory institutions and stakeholders has increased our operating costs,”

“With HSBC’s green and cash revolving loans we can effectively plan our business and improve our cash flow. This is crucial to our expansion in the region.” added Lee.

Neo Wang, Co-Chief Executive and Head of Commercial Banking, Guangdong, HSBC, said, “We believe that green finance is integral to building a sustainable economy and this is strongly reflected in our business strategy. In addition, HSBC will continue to work closely with the government and other organisations to promote sustainable development through the exploration of green finance solutions for the GBA and the entire country.”

HSBC’s commitment to sustainability is further reflected by its pledge to provide and facilitate sustainable financing and investments worth USD100 billion by the end of 2025. The bank also has a diverse range of sustainable finance solutions to meet the needs of clients from different industries as well as providing capital for businesses to invest in assets to reduce carbon emissions. HSBC also has solutions to cover green energy, construction, and transportation.

David Harrity, Managing Director, Growth Propositions, Commercial Banking, Hong Kong, HSBC, added, “As a global financial institution that plays a key role in promoting the development of green finance, HSBC is committed to helping businesses in the GBA to achieve their sustainable development visions through our innovative solutions and expertise, and to seize opportunities arising from the region’s transformation to a low-carbon and high-quality economy.”

Chapter 4: Working together for a better future

Looking ahead, Canvest will focus on adopting new technologies and methods to promote the development of clean green energy. The company also plans to further reduce gas emissions and resource consumption to support China’s efforts to fight climate change and continue its growth story in a sustainable manner.

“We remain committed to creating a sustainable model to support urbanisation and thanks to HSBC’s diverse and flexible green finance solutions we are moving closer towards living out our vision,” said Lee.

She added, “Canvest’s longstanding, trusting relationship with HSBC and working together to achieve sustainable development is also a key part of what being sustainable is really about.”

Disclaimer

HSBC has based the information contained herein on information obtained from sources it believes to be reliable but which it has not independently verified. The information, findings, projections, representations, opinions and/or comments in the information contained herein are subject to change from time to time without any obligation on HSBC to give notice of such change to you and should not be construed as any recommendation or advice.

The views and opinions expressed in the information contained herein are those of the individuals and/or the organisations represented by the individuals and, except where an individual is specifically identified as a representative of HSBC, do not state or reflect the views or opinions of HSBC. These views and opinions are subject to change without notice and without any obligation on HSBC to give notice of such change, and should not be construed as any recommendation or advice.

HSBC makes no representation or warranty (express or implied) of any nature nor is any responsibility of any kind accepted with respect to the completeness or accuracy or reliability of any information, projection, representation or warranty (expressed or implied) in, or omission from, the information contained herein. No liability is accepted whatsoever for any direct, indirect or consequential loss (whether arising in contract, tort or otherwise) arising from the use of or reliance on the information contained herein or any information contained in the information contained herein by the recipient or any third party.

Where the information contained herein makes references to other websites or pages on the internet owned by third parties, such references are included for information purposes only. HSBC is not responsible for the contents of any third party websites or pages referred to in the information contained herein and no liability is accepted whatsoever for any direct, indirect, or consequential loss (whether arising in contract, tort or otherwise) arising from the use of or reliance on the information contained in any of these third party websites or pages. If you seek to rely in any way whatsoever upon any content contained on a third party website or page referred to in the information contained herein, you do so at your own risk. No endorsement or approval of the appropriateness of any third parties or their advice, opinions, information, products or services is expressed or implied by the inclusion in the information contained herein of any information derived from or references to any third party websites or pages.

Nothing in the information contained herein is intended by HSBC to be construed as financial, legal, accounting, tax and/or other advice. No consideration has been given to the particular business objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any recipient. Any examples given are for the purposes of illustration only. Recipients should not rely on the information contained herein in making any decisions and they should make their own independent appraisal of and investigations into the information described in the information contained herein. If you seek to rely in any way whatsoever upon any content contained in the information contained herein, you do so at your own risk. HSBC recommends that before you make any decision or take any action that might affect you or your business, you consult with suitably qualified professional advisers to obtain the appropriate financial, legal, accounting, tax and/or other advice.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

瞬間連繋 粵港澳大灣區新機遇

連世界通大灣 連通無限

可持續發展金融

可持續發展是大灣區的戰略重點,為區內綠色金融的創新發展和實踐注入源源不絕的動力。香港憑藉作為國際金融中心的獨特優勢,將可發展為「立足亞洲、放眼全球」的重要綠色金融樞紐,延續區內可持續發展的故事。

發展概況與未來展望

本資訊圖表闡述了綠色金融在大灣區的發展概況,以及香港的角色和機遇。

 

滙豐對企業綠色轉型的支援

構建大灣區綠色未來—轉廢為能的故事

中國作為全球第二大經濟體1,城鎮化水平不斷提升,人民生活質素日益改善的同時,城市發展卻產生不少廢物。中國國家統計局數據顯示,2018年中國內地城市生活垃圾生產量接近2.3億噸2,足以填滿近92,000個標準游泳池。中央人民政府 (簡稱「中央政府」)近年積極推動垃圾無害化、減量化和資源化,轉廢為能(waste-to-energy)成為廢物處理新主流。

第一章—化腐朽為能源

粵豐環保電力有限公司(簡稱「粵豐環保」)總部設於香港,是中國標杆垃圾焚燒發電企業。截至2020年3月,粵豐環保於全國12個省市營運30個垃圾焚燒項目,每日城市生活垃圾處理總能力達4.5萬噸。3

垃圾焚燒發電是一個可持續、潔淨和有效的城市生活垃圾處理方式。它能夠降低對堆填區空間的需求,減少堆填造成的海洋和土地污染,也能避免傳統垃圾填埋中釋放甲烷,和化石燃料發電廠產生溫室氣體等問題,從而減低整體碳排放;垃圾焚燒過程也能釋放電力和熱力等能源,達到轉廢為能。

近年,不少發達國家均以轉廢為能作為回收以外的最主要垃圾處理方式。在2018年,芬蘭、瑞典和挪威的垃圾焚燒處理比率超過50%。4在2019年,日本約70%的固體廢物同樣以此方式處理。5

粵豐環保主席李詠怡表示:「粵豐環保長久以來一直以『守護綠色生態,奉獻清潔能源』為使命,希望在解決環境污染問題的同時,能將廢物轉化為可再生能源,促進經濟發展與自然環境的和諧共生。」

「2019年,粵豐環保無害化處理逾590萬噸城市生活垃圾,售出綠色電力約200萬兆瓦,節約逾63萬噸標準煤,並抵消逾280萬噸二氧化碳當量排放,充分反映集團在推動內地環境可持續性上作出的貢獻。」李女士續指。

第二章—綠水青山就是金山銀山

廣東省是2018年全國垃圾生產量最高的省份,廣州和東莞更位列全國生活垃圾生產量前十名。6在十三五規劃下,中央政府推動「綠水青山就是金山銀山」的發展理念,提出建設「美麗中國」,鼓勵提升全國城鎮生活垃圾的焚燒比率。2019年頒布的《粵港澳大灣區發展規劃綱要》也訂明綠色能源及環境保護為重點發展領域之一,為粵港澳大灣區內的垃圾焚燒發電市場提供龐大機遇。

「粵豐環保是廣東省規模最大的民營垃圾焚燒發電企業,在區內一共營運14個垃圾焚燒發電廠,日均垃圾處理能力高達2.2萬噸。粵港澳大灣區是集團的主要市場。隨著區內經濟體系日趨成熟、人口和垃圾生產量持續增長,我們預期大灣區建設將帶來大量環保投資需求,我們在區內推動轉廢為能、環境保育和可持續發展上可擔任重要領航角色。」李女士說。

第三章—全面綠色金融支援

粵豐環保順應市場發展趨勢,近年積極沿固廢產業鏈上下游擴展業務。滙豐香港和滙豐中國早前分別透過綠色融資方案和「可持續金融碳減排激勵計劃」,為粵豐環保提供項目資金和財務激勵,支援集團收購及優化垃圾焚燒發電項目,以達到最佳效能的同時亦能節約營運成本。滙豐中國更是內地首家推出此類激勵計劃的外資銀行。7

李女士明言:「垃圾焚燒發電項目屬資本密集行業,除了項目開發、營運和改良需要龐大資金,監管機構和持份者對集團的披露要求日漸提高,也令我們整體營運成本上升。滙豐提供的綠色貸款和現金循環貸款,讓我們可更有效地進行業務規劃和強化資金流,有助我們進一步擴大區內市場份額。」

滙豐廣東聯席行政總裁兼工商金融董事總經理王立偉表示:「綠色金融是構建可持續經濟的關鍵因素。滙豐將繼續在戰略及實際行動上積極推進綠色金融實踐,與政府和企業共同促進可持續發展,為大灣區以至全國綠色金融探索切實可行的解決方案。」

滙豐一直致力推動可持續發展項目,並承諾於2025年底前提供及促成1,000億美元的可持續發展融資及投資。同時,滙豐的多元化可持續發展金融方案,能配合不同行業客戶的資金需要。例如除了支持企業進行廠房投資,購置或更替有效減少碳排放的設備外,方案也涵蓋綠色能源、建築和運輸等多個領域。

滙豐香港工商金融業務發展戰略主管常務總監夏德銘表示:「作為一家推動綠色金融發展的國際性金融機構,滙豐致力提供創新方案和專業意見,協助大灣區內的企業實現可持續發展的願景,配合區內加快低碳和高質量經濟轉型。」

第四章—以創新帶動可持續發展

展望未來,粵豐環保將更著重採用新科技和方法,推進綠色清潔能源發展,並減低集團項目的氣體排放及物料消秏,積極協助國內應對氣候變化,以可持續發展方式成就更多的故事。

李女士續指:「粵豐環保將繼續努力構建一個可持續並能循環發展的城市模式,同時希望透過滙豐多元化及靈活的綠色金融方案滿足融資需求,讓我們的業務願景得以傳承,在現有的長久信任和合作基礎上互相成就彼此的可持續發展。」

聲明

滙豐編製本網頁提供之信息所依據的資料擷取自其認為可靠但未經獨立核實的來源。本網頁提供之信息所載的資料、調查結果、預測、聲明、意見及/或評論或會不時變更,滙豐並無責任就此向你發出通知,亦不應被視為推薦或建議。

本網頁提供之信息所發表的觀點及意見只代表講者個人及/或其代表機構的觀點及意見,除滙豐另有註明講者為其代表,否則有關意見不可視為來自或反映滙豐的觀點或意見。本網頁提供之信息內容所發表的觀點及意見,可予修改而毋須另行通知,且滙豐並無責任就修改向你發出通知。本不可視為推薦或建議。

對於本網頁提供之信息所載任何資料、預測、聲明或保證(不論明示或暗示)的完整性、準確性或可靠性,或其中的任何遺漏,滙豐不作任何性質的聲明或保證(不論明示或暗示),亦不就此承擔任何性質的責任。滙豐對接收者 或任何第三方因使用或倚賴本網頁提供之信息或當中所載任何資料而導致的任何直接、間接或衍生損失(不論因合約、侵權或其他原因而產生)概不負責。

 

若本網頁提供之信息提述由第三方擁有的其他互聯網網站或網頁,有關提述僅供參考。滙豐對本網頁提供之信息所述任何第三方網站或網頁的內容不承擔責任,並且對因使用或倚賴任何該等第三方網站或網頁所載資料而導致的任何直接、間接或衍生損失(不論因合約、侵權或其他原因而產生)概不負責。若你尋求以任何方式倚賴本網頁提供之信息所述第三方網站或網頁所載的任何內容,則須自行承擔風險 。本網頁提供之信息納入源自任何第三方網站或網頁的任何資料或提述該等網站或網頁,不構成對任何第三方或其建議、意見、資料、產品或服務適當性的明示或暗示認可或批准。

本網頁提供之信息所載內容不應視為汇豐對財務、法律、會計、稅務及/或其他範疇的意見。本行並無就任何接收者的特定業務目標、財務狀況或具體需要作出檢核 。所提供的示例僅作說明之用。接收者 於作出任何決策時不應倚賴本網頁提供之信息,並應自行獨立評估及調查本網頁提供之信息所述的資料。若你尋求以任何方式倚賴本網頁提供之信息所述的任何內容,則須自行承擔風險。滙豐建議你在作出或採取任何可影響你或你公司的決定或行動之前,先諮詢合資格的專業顧問 ,尋求適當的財務、法律、會計、稅務及/或其他建議。

聯絡我們

請聯絡你的客戶經理,了解更多。

聯絡我們

請聯絡你的客戶經理,了解更多。

您將離開滙豐工商金融網站。

請注意其他網站的政策會跟我們網站的條款及細則和私隱政策有所不同。現在會開啟一個新的視窗進入另外一個網站。

Leaving Box Headings

Leaving Box Description