• Growing my Business
    • Client Stories
    • Enable Growth

Helping the helping hand

  • Article

With physical outreach efforts impeded by pandemic-related restrictions, non-government organisations (NGOs) in Hong Kong are leveraging digital channels to continue their work. Digital collection platforms in particular are a timely solution for them to overcome the current crisis.

Hong Kong’s NGOs play a pivotal role in helping those in need, but what happens when their main source of funds – donations – dries up?

This was more than just a rhetorical question for NGOs during the COVID-19 pandemic - 60% of NGOs facing a 33% drop in funding due to factors including cancelled fundraising events1.

Prior to this sudden halt, according to a University of Hong Kong survey, cash was the preferred donation method in Hong Kong, with a mere 3.1% of surveyed donors using digital channels and only 23.3% of interviewed NGOs supporting online-based giving2.

The impact of COVID-19 means it is now vital for NGOs to extend their reach to givers by enabling digital donations or creating e-fundraising platforms and events. Thankfully, recent progress towards the widespread adoption of digital transactions in Hong Kong – with support from financial institutions – is making this easier for NGOs.

For instance, through HSBC’s Business Collect and PayMe solutions – which saw 430% growth in NGO clientele over the past couple of years   – they can now raise funds through card transactions, real-time payments and e-wallet donations.

For e-fundraising events, the use of Faster Payment System (FPS) QR codes is enabling donors to make near-instant payments direct to NGO accounts, contributing as much as 35% of the total donation volume in one instance.

In addition to making donations easier, digitalisation can also help NGOs automate the time-consuming manual reconciliation of cash contributions. Central to this process are Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), which enables a near-instant remittance of funds as well as automatic notifications to complete reconciliations in seconds. All these open up additional donation streams for NGOs and supports their digital transformation.

Explore more in Helping the helping hand: Digitising collections for Hong Kong SAR’s NGOs [PDF, 4.13MB].

Call us on

+852 2748 8288

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 发展我的业务
    • 促进增长

非政府机构捐款数字化

  • 文章

疫情爆发下本地非政府机构被逼暂停实体募捐活动,转用数字渠道延续工作,市面上的数字收款平台正好是它们解困的关键。

非政府机构从来都在香港社会担当重要角色,一直致力向有需要的人施以援手,不过当其重要经费来源如捐款近乎枯竭的时候又应该怎么办?

这绝非一个假设性的问题 ─ 疫情之下就有六成非政府机构因为募捐活动取消等原因失去了33%的经费1

香港大学在疫情爆发以前进行了一项调查,发现绝大部份港人都倾向使用现金捐款,仅3.1%受访者表示会在网上捐款,也只有23.3%受访非政府机构表示它们支持接收网上捐款2

新冠疫情肆虐,令非政府机构不得不思索要建立数字捐款渠道、网上筹款平台以及通过虚拟活动方式接触捐款人。幸运地,数字化交易在香港金融机构的推动下已经变得普及,非政府机构也能因此受惠。

例如,汇丰“智丰收”及PayMe 等解决方案所吸纳的非政府机构客户在数年间就激增了430%,这些工具都支持银行卡、实时支付及电子货币包等方式募捐。

至于网上筹款活动,捐款人可以通过 “转数快”(FPS 快速支付系统)二维码,将捐款接近实时地汇入受惠机构户口,有网上筹款活动更曾通过此渠道筹得35%的捐款。

数字捐款除了带来便利以外,也能帮助这些机构实现捐款自动对账。应用程序编程接口(API)的运用,令到接近实时汇款、自动付款通知和对账都能够在瞬间达成。这些方案都为非政府机构开拓了更多捐款来源,也可以早日实现数字化转型。

想了解更多,请参阅协助香港非政府机构收款数字化 [PDF, 4.17MB]

了解更多

需要帮助?

联络我们以了解更多关于理财解决方案以及如何帮助你推动业务发展的资讯。