• Growing my Business
    • Client Stories
    • Enable Growth

Hong Kong retail’s digital leap

  • Article

Digitalisation in the local retail sector is gathering pace as the pandemic accelerates changes in shopping habits.

The last two years have reshaped Hong Kong’s retail landscape, as the city’s shopping culture adapted to the impact of the pandemic. Not surprisingly, with footfall constrained, there has been more interest in digitisation among local businesses, with many participating in government incentive schemes such as D-biz and the Technology Voucher Programme to facilitate their transformations.

With the shift to digital wallets among consumers also accelerating1, the case for retailers to “go digital” is increasing and many are embracing this transition. Growth in transactions on the Faster Payment System (FPS) – Hong Kong’s real-time payment infrastructure – is a case in point. Consumers recorded 263 million FPS transactions in 2021, an impressive increase of 500% from 2019, and the number of FPS transactions processed through HSBC Business Collect have also tripled year-on-year since 2019, coupled with a 72% growth in new merchant users in 20212.

As retailers continue along the path of digital transformation, their business models are changing. Many are focusing on creating e-stores to offer a 1:1 digital sales experience and leveraging social media and direct sales channels to grow online. Others, including SMEs, are choosing platforms that offer one-stop services like the instant crediting of funds and comprehensive collection reporting.

HSBC has a range of digital solutions to support this process, including Business Collect – a digitised, standardised collections system accessed via one online platform and requiring just a single device; and PayMe for Business, which not only facilitates faster payment collection for merchants but also instant access to funds.

Explore more in The digital leap of Hong Kong SAR's retail sector [PDF, 4.68 MB] booklet.

Call us on

+852 2748 8288

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 發展我的業務
    • 促進增長

香港零售業加速數碼轉型

  • 文章

疫情促使消費者改變習慣,本地零售業實踐數碼化轉型應對。

過去兩年的疫情不但改變了香港的消費模式,亦重塑了本地的零售環境。當商場或商舖人流在疫情下受到限制,本地企業更積極鑽研數碼化營商,不少更透過政府「遙距營商計劃」(D-Biz)及「科技券」計劃(TVP)下的資助進行創新轉型。

隨著數碼錢包愈來愈受到消費者青睞1,這亦誘使本地零售商考慮數碼化轉型,甚至積極迎接這項轉變。就以香港研發的實時支付系統「轉數快」(Faster Payment System, FPS)來說,單在2021年消費者已透過「轉數快」進行了2.63億宗交易,較2019年大幅增長500%,而透過滙豐「智豐收」(HSBC Business Collect)收款的「轉數快」交易量自2019年以來同比增長達三倍,而該平台2021年新用戶數量增長達72%2

零售商持續數碼轉型,這亦意味著它們營業模式的轉變。有很多都專注發展網店以提供一對一的數碼銷售體驗,同時透過社交媒體和直銷渠道拓展網上業務。另一邊廂,特別是中小企,它們亦在尋求一些可以支援資金即時入賬和全面收款滙報等服務的一站式平台。

滙豐現時已有一系列為這類商戶而設的數碼解決方案,包括「智豐收」,令整個收款流程都可以透過單一線上平台和單一裝置實現數碼化和標準化;而PayMe for Business亦是一個方便商戶更快收款和即時調配資金的途徑。

瀏覽香港零售業數碼化轉型 [PDF, 2.19 MB] 小冊子以了解更多。

了解更多

需要幫助?

聯絡我們以了解更多關於理財解決方案以及如何幫助你推動業務發展的資訊。