• Growing my Business
    • Greater Bay Area
    • Seeking New Opportunities

What does the Greater Bay Area and re-industrialisation mean for Hong Kong businesses?

  • Article

As the world progresses towards Industry 4.0, “re-industrialisation” has also become a buzzword in Hong Kong as the city strives to diversify its economy and seeks new engines of growth. The concept is to leverage the use of emerging technologies to spawn high-value-added industries and supply chains. All this whilst establishing synergies and seizing the opportunities coming from the Greater Bay Area.

At the “Hong Kong Economic Summit 2022”, sponsored by HSBC, experts shed light on some fundamental aspects of this strategy for the city that offer opportunities:

  • Existing industrial estates, originally designed for labour-intensive production, must be upgraded and retooled for the innovation industries. For example, Tseung Kwan O Industrial Estate will have an Advanced Manufacturing Centre added, aspiring to attract manufacturers of satellites, electronics, medical equipment and logistic companies amongst others to move in.
  • Re-industrialisation, Internet of Things (IoT) and FinTech all depend on ICT infrastructure. Hong Kong is a forerunner in 5G development and has a high mobile penetration rate. These provide a good foundation for Hong Kong’s small-and-medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) to embark on digital transformation.
  • Talent sourcing is crucial, especially in the process of re-industrialisation. Hong Kong’s innovation and technological development has reached a stage that calls for grooming more talent in addition to building the best industrial environment. Currently, Hong Kong has between 40,000 and 50,000 individuals trained in research and innovation and has between 3,000 and 5,000 start-ups. In comparison, there are 200,000 in Shenzhen and 50,000 – 60,000 start-ups.
  • In the 2021 Policy Address from the Hong Kong government the creation of a Northern Metropolis to co-pilot Hong Kong’s economic growth was proposed. The proposal places a strong emphasis on grooming start-ups and tech firms, hoping to create an economic belt of innovation and technology industries locally that thrive in synergy with their counterparts from neighbouring Shenzhen.

Want to find out more about the insights from experts and industry leaders on the key trends on re-industrialisation? Click this link to review the contents of “Hong Kong Economic Summit 2022” (available in Chinese only).

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 發展我的業務
    • 粵港澳大灣區
    • 尋找新機會

港企如何在「再工業化」之路把握大灣區機遇?

  • 文章

為促進本港產業多元化,推動經濟發展與增長,並在環球工業4.0的佈景下,「再工業化」隨之在港興起,旨在通過創新科技,在本地發展高增值產業及產業鏈,並配合粵港澳大灣區一體化發展,積極實踐創新製造,讓工業再出發。

由滙豐贊助的「香港經濟峰會2022」中,各大專家就香港推動「再工業化」提出了以下觀點:

  • 本地工業邨均必須升級轉型,由過往勞動密集的生產模式,轉變成為由科技推動,例如將軍澳工業邨將會興建先進製造業中心 (Advanced Manufacturing Centre),有望吸引衞星、電子、醫療設備、物流等領域的公司進駐。
  • 再工業化、物聯網、金融科技的應用,最終都需要網絡基建,而香港5G網絡發展和流動通訊滲透率早在世界領先位置,為香港中小企數碼化轉型提供了網絡基礎。
  • 人才問題必須正視,香港創新科技發展多年已達轉折點,除了環境建設外,人才發展是「再工業化」中的重要一環。現時香港有四萬至五萬名科研人員,初創企業介乎3,000至5,000間,惟對比之下,深圳有超過20萬名科研人員,以及五萬至六萬間初創企業。
  • 2021年《施政報告》提出構建的「北部都會區」,計劃透過創新科技產業,推動北部都會區成為香港第二個經濟引擎。同時,積極推動與深圳的創科產業互動合作,在該區建立完整的創科產業鏈。

欲發掘更多專家與行業領袖對香港工業數碼化的見解?請透過以下連結重溫「香港經濟峰會2022」的精采內容。

需要幫助?

聯絡我們以了解更多關於理財解決方案以及如何幫助你推動業務發展的資訊。