Local Business Stories

How do Hong Kong businesses embrace changes and flourish in the new normal?

By developing 5G-powered robots, we wish to make the world a better place to live.

Mark Mak, Co-founder, Roborn

 

 



We’re always here for you. Speak to us.
Call us on +852 2748 8238

Arrange a call back

See how Roborn swiftly shifted their business focus to go ahead of market demand when the pandemic hit.

Chapter 1: Promoting the application of technology

Roborn was founded in 2017 as a start-up and was behind the invention of a motion control robot that launched in the same year. At the time, this represented a major breakthrough for the tech sector in Hong Kong. Roborn then earned a reputation for innovation with its roll-out of a first-of-a-kind 5G-enabled humanoid robot in mainland China, demonstrating the capabilities and growth potential of Hong Kong’s science and tech research and development (R&D) sector.

With the increasing use and growing popularity of new technologies such as AI and automation, robots are no longer elements for sci-fi movies but practical solutions with an impact on people’s daily lives. For Roborn, the heart of its business is to integrate robotics into the operations of a broad range of industries, generating greater economic and societal value through enhanced efficiency.

Chapter 2: Responding to a crisis with agility

Roborn’s core business has historically been R&D relating to 5G motion control smart robots. However, the COVID-19 outbreak has hampered cooperation with its partners in mainland China, grinding many projects to a halt. Seeing the surging demand for products to help fight the virus, Roborn acted promptly to shift its business model into the development of epidemic prevention robots.

Mark Mak, Co-founder of Roborn, recalled, “The rapid spread of the epidemic brought demand for epidemic prevention-related supplies to levels that no one was ready for and put unprecedented pressure on healthcare systems around the world. In the face of both adversity and uncertainty, we decided to suspend our other active projects and devote all our available resources to the R&D of robots involved in epidemic prevention.”


Set on this new course, Roborn quickly assembled a team of scientific research and medical experts, and successfully developed a temperature monitoring smart robot in just 15 days. The robot has since been deployed by various government departments, private companies, medical centres and schools in Hong Kong. The company subsequently rolled out other kinds of robot involved in different aspects of epidemic prevention, including a UVC disinfection robot, as well as an air quality monitoring robot. Roborn has also promoted these technologies in other overseas markets such as Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia.

A timely and effective change of business strategy relies not only on a company’s ability to adapt to market forces, but also on a combination of many other factors. “Making a dramatic shift in our business focus was definitely something easier said than done, particularly when the pandemic was at its early stage,” continued Mark. “The worldwide supply of the thermal components needed for developing temperature-monitoring robots was highly inadequate at the beginning of the pandemic, and we had to snap them up and bear the costs from our own reserves. Coupled with huge R&D expenses, we were under severe financial pressure at that time.” Mark went on to describe the great challenges faced by the company in terms of manpower, time and cost control in the midst of the pandemic.


Chapter 3: Timely support from a trusted partner

HSBC provided Roborn with support when it was needed to transform crisis into opportunity. Mark explained, “We met a Relationship Manager from HSBC Commercial Banking at an industry event. Despite the fact that we were not a client, this RM has since been keen to check in regularly on our business updates and banking needs. In addition, thanks to its position as a global bank, HSBC gives us huge confidence. Therefore, when our company underwent a restructuring in 2019, we decided to move our main business accounts to HSBC.

“I have always thought that banks only provide their clients with one-way, impersonal banking services. But our Relationship Manager from HSBC has


always kept in close communication with us to keep abreast of our business development. After the HKSAR Government rolled out the Special 100% Loan Guarantee under the SME Financing Guarantee Scheme in the wake of the pandemic, our Relationship Manager proactively informed us of the scheme and guided us through the details and application process. As a result, within a month we had successfully secured a generous loan facility, providing timely relief for our working capital needs,” said Mark.


Chapter 4: Stepping into a successful future

Looking ahead, Roborn hopes to help different industries tackle some of their biggest pain points by applying robotic solutions. Mark said, “Propelled by the emergence of a new economy, innovation and tech companies are poised to enjoy vast opportunities as we stand on the verge of broad digital transformation across all industries.

“We look forward to continuing to work closely with HSBC. Leveraging the bank’s extensive global network and client base, I am confident we can connect with more potential clients and business partners to further unearth the potential of robotics adoption,” continued Mark.

HSBC will continue to act as a connector in the business community. Using our comprehensive digital banking solutions and extensive network, we will support local tech companies like Roborn to discover growth opportunities and embark on another successful chapter in their business stories.

Terence Chiu, Head of Commercial Banking, Hong Kong, HSBC

 

 



We’re always here for you. Speak to us.
Call us on +852 2748 8238

Arrange a call back

HSBC Sprint Account

Smarter banking to help your business take off

Special 100% Loan Guarantee under the SME Financing Guarantee Scheme

Helping SMEs alleviate some of the anxiety from paying wages and rent in this tough operating environment during COVID-19.


Reminder: “To borrow or not to borrow? Borrow only if you can repay!”


*Terms and conditions apply.

Disclaimers:

HSBC has based this video/webpage on information obtained from sources it believes to be reliable but which it has not independently verified. The information, findings, projections, representations, opinions and/or comments in this video/webpage are subject to change from time to time without any obligation on HSBC to give notice of such change to you and should not be construed as any recommendation or advice. The views and opinions expressed in this video/webpage are those of the individuals and/or the organisations represented by the individuals and, except where an individual is specifically identified as a representative of HSBC, do not state or reflect the views or opinions of HSBC. These views and opinions are subject to change without notice and without any obligation on HSBC to give notice of such change, and should not be construed as any recommendation or advice.

HSBC makes no representation or warranty (express or implied) of any nature nor is any responsibility of any kind accepted with respect to the completeness or accuracy or reliability of any information, projection, representation or warranty (expressed or implied) in, or omission from, this video/webpage. No liability is accepted whatsoever for any direct, indirect or consequential loss (whether arising in contract, tort or otherwise) arising from the use of or reliance on this video/webpage or any information contained in this video/webpage by the recipient or any third party.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that other site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

企業港故事

香港企業如何適應市場新常態,,面對層出不窮的挑戰?

我們研發5G機械人,希望可以幫到世界,令人類生活得更好。

Roborn聯合創辦人麥騫譽





我們致力助你實現業務大計,歡迎與我們聯絡。

致電給我們 +852 2748 8238

安排回電



立即觀看短片,了解Roborn於疫情期間如何把握市場趨勢,果斷調整業務策略。

第一章:推動科技實踐

路邦科技 (Roborn) 於2017年成立,當時研發的動感控制機械人為香港創科界帶來了很大突破。其後,Roborn於內地成功推出的首個5G 仿生機械人更為公司打響名堂,令不少人認識到「港產科研」的實力。

隨著人工智能和自動化技術等嶄新科技愈趨普及,機械人應用如今已非天馬行空的科幻橋段。Roborn將科技應用融入日常生活,令機械人技術不僅流於空談,而是能夠真正應用到不同行業,透過提升效率帶來更大的經濟和社會效益。

第二章:果斷應對危機

Roborn以發展5G智能動感控制機械人為主要業務,而新型冠狀病毒疫情令他們與內地的合作項目暫停,研發亦被逼中斷。面對社會對防疫產品需求急增,Roborn迅速地改變業務策略,轉為全力研發防疫機械人。Roborn聯合創辦人麥騫譽 (Mark)說:「疫情快速蔓延,為防疫物資帶來海量需求,也為各地醫療系統造成龐大壓力。Roborn毅然暫停公司手上進行的所有項目,全力研發防疫機械人。」

在Roborn由科研和醫療專家組成的團隊努力下,不眠不休,僅僅用了15天,成功推出體溫檢測機械人,並很快獲得香港政府機構、私營企業、專科醫療中心和學校等採用。之後Roborn也推出其他類型的防疫機械人,包括紫外線消毒機械人和監測空氣機械人,並把技術推廣到泰國、印尼以及馬來西亞等地。

調整策略除了依靠對市場趨勢的靈敏度和企業靈活性,亦需要其他因素配合。「疫情初期,要把公司重心驟然轉向,絕對是說易行難。」Mark續指:「防疫機械人要用到的熱感零件,於疫情初期在全球供不應求,我們必須先自資全額進行搶購。研發新技術同時需要大量資金,當時的資金壓力十分龐大。」Mark坦言在疫情期間,Roborn在人力投入、時間和成本控制上均面對很大挑戰。

第三章:夥伴及時支援

滙豐的主動支援,絕對為Roborn在疫情下轉危為機增添一臂之力。Mark指出:「Roborn早在創業初期便在某個行業活動中認識到滙豐工商金融的客戶經理。儘管當時我們仍未成為滙豐客戶,他一直很主動了解我們的發展方向和理財需要。這份積極和重視,再加上滙豐是一個國際品牌,為我們帶來很大信心。因此,在2019年公司進行架構重組時,我們決定將主要商業戶口轉至滙豐。」

「一直以來,我都以為銀行只是提供單向、冷冰冰的理財服務,但滙豐客戶經理與我們保持緊密溝通,掌握我們的發展方向。在疫情期間,香港政府推出『百分百擔保特惠貸款』,他主動向我們講解方案細節,並跟進整個申請流程,結果我們只需一個月便得到了數百萬元貸款,及時應付當時的龐大資金需要。」

第四章:延續成功篇章

展望未來, Roborn將致力透過機械人技術協助更多不同行業解決難題。Mark說:「新經濟常態加速數碼轉型,為創科企業迎來龐大機遇。」

「我們希望能繼續和滙豐緊密合作,透過其環球網絡和龐大客戶基礎,聯繫更多潛在客戶和合作夥伴,進一步開拓機械人技術的應用潛力。」Mark續指。

滙豐會繼續發揮『商界聯繫人』的角色,透過全方位數碼理財方案和龐大網絡支援,協助Roborn等本地創科企業聯繫發展機遇,延續成功故事。

滙豐香港工商金融主管趙民忠





我們致力助你實現業務大計,歡迎與我們聯絡。

致電給我們 +852 2748 8238

安排回電



滙豐Sprint戶口

全面理財方案 引領業務啟航

中小企融資擔保計劃 –「百分百擔保特惠貸款」

加強對中小企的支持, 紓緩在疫情期間支付員工薪金及租金所帶來的經營壓力。


提示:「借定唔借?還得到先好借!」

*受條款及細則約束。

 

聲明:

滙豐編製本影片/網頁所依據的資料擷取自其認為可靠但未經獨立核實的來源。本影片/網頁所載的資料、調查結果、預測、聲明、意見及/或評論或會不時變更,滙豐並無責任就此向你發出通知,亦不應被視為推薦或建議。影片/網頁所發表的觀點及意見只代表講者個人及/或其代表機構的觀點及意見,除滙豐另有註明講者為其代表,否則有關意見不可視為來自或反映滙豐的觀點或意見。本影片/網頁內容所發表的觀點及意見,可予修改而毋須另行通知,且滙豐並無責任就修改向你發出通知。本影片/網頁不可視為推薦或建議。

對於本影片/網頁提供之信息所載任何資料、預測、聲明或保證(不論明示或暗示)的完整性、準確性或可靠性,或其中的任何遺漏,滙豐不作任何性質的聲明或保證(不論明示或暗示),亦不就此承擔任何性質的責任。滙豐對接收者或任何第三方因使用或倚賴本影片/網頁提供之信息或當中所載任何資料而導致的任何直接、間接或衍生損失(不論因合約、侵權或其他原因而產生)概不負責。

您將離開滙豐工商金融網站。

請注意其他網站的政策會跟我們網站的條款及細則和私隱政策有所不同。現在會開啟一個新的視窗進入另外一個網站。

Leaving Box Headings

Leaving Box Description