• Growing my Business
    • Enable Growth
    • Seeking New Opportunities

Hong Kong’s engines of growth in 2022

  • Article

A new year heralds fresh aspirations for businesses in Hong Kong. Last year was overshadowed by uncertainty caused by the pandemic, but signs of recovery are illuminating the Hong Kong economy. But will that prove sustainable in 2022?

The city’s political and business leaders have shared their views at the “Hong Kong Economic Summit 2022”, sponsored by HSBC, on the themes making a difference for businesses in the times ahead.

  • Path to recovery: compared with global growth, Hong Kong’s economic performance was buoyed by strong and steady export growth, an improved labour market and positive sentiment. Over the first three quarters of 2021, the local economy grew by 7%1 compared to the same period in previous year.
  • Rise of ESG (Environment, Social, Governance) investing: The UN Climate Change Conference (COP26) held in Glasgow in 2021 has given a fresh impetus to the idea of sustainable investing. In 2021, many anticipated global sustainable debt issuance to hit the USD1 trillion mark. Green bonds and sustainable financing are also popular in Hong Kong - as many as 90 ESG bonds raised HKD270 billion in 20212.
  • Innovations gain focus: Hong Kong is gearing up for what’s called its “re-industrialisation”, with an aim to spawn more high-value-added industries and evolve supply chains through innovations, as well as advanced manufacturing. Start-ups and tech firms can also benefit from the upcoming InnoPark upgrades and the proposed creation of a Northern Metropolis. Meanwhile, FinTech is pushing the frontiers and amongst all the developments the exploration of central bank digital currencies, such as e-HKD and e-CNY, and that for cross-border payments provides a catalyst for even more to happen.
  • Cross-border capital flows: facilities like Bond Connect and Stock Connect will continue to channel investments into both Hong Kong and mainland Chinese capital markets, underscoring Hong Kong’s role as a hub for asset management and risk management activities. The Wealth Management Connect for retail investors will create breakthroughs and new opportunities in the Greater Bay Area wealth market. Launching an insurance connect scheme will be the next milestone.

Want to find out more about the insights from experts and industry leaders on these key trends? Click the link below to review the contents of "Hong Kong Economic Summit 2022" (available in Chinese only).

Call us on

+852 2748 8288

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• 發展我的業務
    • 促進增長
    • 尋找新機會

2022年香港經濟增長新引擎

  • 文章

新的一年,香港企業對發展亦有著新的祈望。反覆的新冠疫情為2021年的經濟發展難免帶來了一些負面影響,展望2022年,香港經濟的增長動力能否持續?

由滙豐贊助的「香港經濟峰會2022」上,多位香港政商領袖就各大經濟發展趨勢分享了其見解。

  • 香港經濟有待復蘇: 相比全球的經濟增長情況,香港強勁的出口增長、獲得改善的就業市場,以及較為正面的市場情緒均提振了其經濟表現。在2021年首三季,本地經濟較2020年同期增長7%1
  • ESG(環境、社會和企業管治)投資成趨勢: 2021年在蘇格蘭格拉斯哥舉行的第26屆聯合國氣候變化大會(COP26)令可持續投資理念的重要性更受關注。2021年全球的可持續發展債券(sustainable bonds)的規模估計已達一萬億美元。香港的綠色和可持續金融生態也甚為豐富,2021年有90隻與綠色及ESG相關的債券在港交所發行,集資額達港幣2,700億元2
  • 創新科技為重點發展領域: 香港推動「再工業化」,旨在通過創新科技,在本地發展高增值產業及產業鏈,積極實踐創新製造,讓工業再出發。創新園(InnoPark)的升級計劃和北部都會區發展策略,將為一眾初創及科技企業帶來有利的環境條件。此外,金融科技的發展也將更為進取,多項嶄新的科技應用,如數碼港元、數字人民幣(e-CNY)、央行數碼貨幣應用於跨境支付等,都在研究和探索當中。
  • 金融市場互聯互通:「債券通」和「港股通」將持續促進香港和內地之間的資金融通,讓香港能進一步發揮其資產管理中心和風險管理中心的功能;「跨境理財通」則為粵港澳大灣區財富管理市場帶來突破和新機遇,而保險市場的互聯互通,將會是下一項發展里程 。

欲發掘更多專家與行業領袖對以上多項發展趨勢的見解?請透過以下連結重溫「香港經濟峰會2022」的精采內容。

致電給我們

+852 2748 8288

需要幫助?

聯絡我們以了解更多關於理財解決方案以及如何幫助你推動業務發展的資訊。