Insights

Asia Supply Chains: A New Era

Under the pandemic, corporates have been looking for more efficient working capital solutions and digitisation for the supply chains. We conducted a bespoke Asian Supply Chain survey in Nov 2021 to speak with over 400 financial decision makers from organisations across nine markets in Asia Pacific and gained insights from them.

The survey focuses on how supply chains and working capital strategies in Asia are being reshaped, and how corporates are incorporating digitisation and sustainability into their supply chain management priorities.

Watch the video to find out the latest insights.

Download the report to find out the insights in Asia and the analysis of key markets in Asia Pacific.

Visit our global page to explore further insights on supply chains.

Next Generation Trade: Reshaping the future of global trade through digital technology

HSBC and the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) recently jointly hosted the ‘Next Generation Trade’ webinar, bringing together a range of experts and industry leaders to share insights on the key trends in digital trade and business digitalisation.

Boosting trade growth through digitalisation and diversified supply chains

Amid escalating trade tensions over the past few years, coupled with the impact of the pandemic on the global economy, the widespread adoption of digital technology has been creating new trends and rapidly reshaping the trade landscape. Aditya Gahlaut, Head of Global Trade and Receivables Finance at HSBC Hong Kong and Macau, noted that existing cross-border trade in services and data is experiencing significant growth – especially in the area of digitalised trade, where streamlined processes have improved efficiency and reduced costs, boosting the growth of global trade.


[Left] Aditya Gahlaut, Head of Global Trade and Receivables Finance, Hong Kong and Macau, HSBC
[Right] Benjamin Chau, Deputy Executive Director, HKTDC

Businesses are also actively adopting new strategies in this new landscape. Benjamin Chau, Deputy Executive Director of HKTDC, revealed that HKTDC has witnessed overseas buyers gradually moving away from purchasing from a centralised procurement location and towards using multiple locations in order to diversify risk, in addition to expanding online sales channels. Both of these trends are driving the adoption of digital technologies. Given the considerable progress made in a variety of Asian trade initiatives, and considering that the growth driver for global innovation is shifting towards Asia, Gahlaut and Chau both emphasised that companies should start taking notice of the growing Asian market – especially the regions that have vast potential, such as the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area and the ASEAN region.

Data is the key to digital transformation

During the webinar, a number of industry experts discussed how businesses can accelerate their digital transformation agendas as they adapt to this new era of digital trade.

The discussion focused on how data can make businesses more competitive. Alice Wong, Group Chief Financial Officer of Hong Kong Television Network Ltd, thinks that companies can leverage business data to identify gaps in market demand and make strategic adjustments, increasing innovation in their operations. Nick Wei, Regional Sales Director of Centric Software, said that digital technology has allowed stakeholders to establish a collaborative platform, enabling more flexible and cost-effective manufacturing and procurement processes for merchants and contributing to a green supply chain.

Shirley Kwong, Head of Business Development of Global Trade and Receivables Finance at HSBC, said that businesses can leverage the latest data from reliable third-party platforms for paperless credit assessment and monitoring processes. They can also use data to enhance the security and efficiency of those processes, noted Kwong, helping them to meet their financing needs more promptly.

The three speakers shared their tips on digital transformation in business. Wong emphasised to SMEs that the moment to adopt digitalisation is now: “Many might think that digitalisation isn’t relevant to their business, but if they stay put instead of keeping pace with change, they’re going to let a lot of opportunities slip away.”

Wei stated that businesses going through digitalisation must find the right solution: “When it comes to digitalisation, many businesses think that a set of installation systems is all they need, but it is also crucial to identify the issues they need to address across their different processes, including ordering, manufacturing, design and inventory, in order to prescribe the right solution.”

Kwong thinks that businesses undergoing digitalisation must be both bold and cautious: “SMEs need to find suitable solutions for bold adoption; then seek a reliable third party for execution.”

Reshaping the future of supply chains in Asia

Supply chains are evolving. The pandemic has created a challenging environment for global trade. We have conducted a bespoke supply chain survey in the middle of 2020 to gain insights from corporate treasurers and finance professionals. Watch the videos to find out more.

Survey summary

Global supply chains in transition

Funding the supply chain

Future supply chains – digital and sustainable

Building supply chains of the future

Blockchain: transforming the future of trade finance

Explore the groundbreaking end-to-end trade finance transaction on Corda.

Contact us

+852 2748 8288

After language selection, press #, 4

Reminder: "To borrow or not to borrow? Borrow only if you can repay!"

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

贸易卓见

亚洲供应链 : 新时代

企业在疫情下不断寻求有效的营运资金及数字化供应链方案。我们在2021年11月进行了一项有关亚太区的供应链调研 ,访问了超过400位来自九个亚太区市场的企业财务专家,了解他们的见解。

调研重点关注亚太区企业的供应链及营运资金策略,以及企业如何将数字化和可持续发展融入其供应链管理。

观看以下视频 ,了解更多(视频只提供英文版本) 。

下载调研报告,了解亚太区的洞察,以及亚太区主要城市的分析(报告只提供英文版本)。

浏览环球网页,发掘更多有关供应链的见解。

贸易新时代:数字科技重塑全球贸易未来

早前汇丰与香港贸易发展局联合举办“贸易新时代”网上研讨会,邀请多位贸易专家及行业领袖分享有关数字贸易未来趋势与企业数字转型的见解。

数字化、分散化供应链为贸易增长注入动力

尽管近年国际贸易摩擦频生,加上疫情冲击环球经济,但数字科技的广泛应用令全球贸易形态加快重塑,呈现新趋势。汇丰环球贸易及融资业务部港澳地区主管Aditya Gahlaut在会上致辞时表示,当前全球范围内数据与服务贸易跨境流动增长显著,尤其是数据要素的跨境流通简化了贸易流程,提升了效率和营收,为全球贸易增长注入新动力。

[左] 汇丰环球贸易及融资业务部港澳地区主管 Aditya Gahlaut
[右] 香港贸易发展局副总裁周启良

全球贸易新格局下,企业也积极调整应对策略。香港贸易发展局副总裁周启良在会上指出,海外买家从倚重单一采购来源到转向各地采购以分散风险,以及企业增加网上销售渠道,均加速了数字科技应用。随着亚洲区内多项自由贸易协议全面推进,以及全球创新领域的增长中心正向亚洲转移,Aditya Gahlaut和周启良均在会上强调,持续扩大的亚洲区内市场值得企业关注,尤其是粤港澳大湾区及东盟地区市场均极具发展潜力。

数据成转型关键

多名行业专家也在会上讨论环节探讨企业可如何在数字贸易新时代加速转型。

数据如何帮助推动企业提升数字竞争力成关注焦点。香港电视网络有限公司集团财务总裁黄雅丽认为,通过商业数据,企业可迅速识别市场需求上的空缺,及时调整并作出最佳商业决策,实现营商模式创新。Centric Software区域销售总监韦益敦认为,数字科技的应用为贸易参与者建立了协同沟通的平台,令商家生产和采购过程更灵活、更具成本效益同时也有助于构建绿色供应链。

汇丰香港工商金融环球贸易业务销售主管邝晓文表示,善用可靠第三方平台的最新商业数据,不仅可实现信贷评估及监察过程无纸化,同时也令有关流程更安全有效,更及时地满足企业融资需求。

对于企业数字转型,三位嘉宾各有“赠言”。黄雅丽认为,中小企需“现在”实行数字化,“很多人认为数字化好像事不关己,但如果不作出改变,未能与时俱进,越迟实行便会令越多机会流失。”

韦益敦指,企业数字化必须“对症下药”,“很多客户想转型,以为购买系统便可以,但其实他们必须了解在排单、生产、设计、仓储等流程中,哪里出问题,然后对症下药。”

邝晓文说,企业实行数字化必须“胆大心细”,“中小企必须事先看看有什么适合自己的方案,再放胆采用;并寻找第三方合作,落实计划。”

重塑亚洲供应链的未来

供应链不断在发展、演变,疫情亦为环球贸易带来前所未见的挑战。我们于2020年中进行了一项有关供应链的调研,从而获得企业财务专家的见解。观看以下视频,了解更多。(视频只提供英文版本)

调查概览

环球供应链的演变

供应链的资金

数字化及可持续的供应链

构建供应链的未来

区块链:正在改变贸易融资的未来

在Corda平台开拓创新的端到端贸易融资交易。

(本视频只提供英文版本)

联系我们

+852 2748 8288

经过语言选择,请按#,4

提示:“借定唔借?还得到先好借!“

需要帮助?

联络我们以了解更多关于理财解决方案以及如何帮助你推动业务发展的资讯。